Tennis Scoring Quiz

Approved & Edited by ProProfs Editorial Team
The editorial team at ProProfs Quizzes consists of a select group of subject experts, trivia writers, and quiz masters who have authored over 10,000 quizzes taken by more than 100 million users. This team includes our in-house seasoned quiz moderators and subject matter experts. Our editorial experts, spread across the world, are rigorously trained using our comprehensive guidelines to ensure that you receive the highest quality quizzes.
Learn about Our Editorial Process
| By Catherine Halcomb
C
Catherine Halcomb
Community Contributor
Quizzes Created: 1428 | Total Attempts: 5,897,934
Questions: 15 | Attempts: 156

SettingsSettingsSettings
Tennis Scoring Quiz - Quiz

You might be a fantastic tennis player, but do you know every detail about how to keep scores? Try this Tennis Scoring quiz to find out. Tennis is one of the most loved games and is also very challenging. A single game involves multiple sets. When it comes to scoring rules and regulations, tennis stands apart. It also looks pretty complicated to some. You must try this fun quiz to test your knowledge of tennis scoring rules. All the best!


Questions and Answers
  • 1. 

    No matter what the score is, how often do old balls need to be replaced with new ones in a professional tournament?

    • A.

      Every 4 games

    • B.

      Every 7 games

    • C.

      Every 8 games

    • D.

      Every set

    Correct Answer
    B. Every 7 games
    Explanation
    In a professional tournament, old balls need to be replaced with new ones every 7 games. This is because the balls can become worn out and lose their bounce after being used for a certain period of time. By replacing them every 7 games, the players can ensure that they are using balls that are in optimal condition for the best gameplay.

    Rate this question:

  • 2. 

    What is the corresponding call for when either player captures 1 point in their possession during a normal 0-15-30-40 game?

    • A.

      20

    • B.

      15

    • C.

      10

    • D.

      1

    Correct Answer
    B. 15
    Explanation
    In a normal 0-15-30-40 game, when either player captures 1 point in their possession, it corresponds to a call of "15". This means that the player has scored one point and the score is now 15-0, 15-15, 15-30, or 15-40 depending on the previous score.

    Rate this question:

  • 3. 

    Match the following with the number of captured points a player received in a 0-15-30-40 game format.

    • A.

      15 = 1 Captured point

    • B.

      30 = 2 Captured points

    • C.

      40 = 4 Captured points

    • D.

      0 = No Captured points

    Correct Answer(s)
    A. 15 = 1 Captured point
    B. 30 = 2 Captured points
    D. 0 = No Captured points
    Explanation
    In a 0-15-30-40 game format, the player receives 1 captured point when the score is 15, 2 captured points when the score is 30, and no captured points when the score is 0. This means that the player earns a captured point for every 15 points they score, except when the score is 0.

    Rate this question:

  • 4. 

    If two players meet at 5-5 and one of them wins the next game to take to 6-5 or 5-6, they win the set. Is this true or false?

    • A.

      True, because the player captured 6 total games, which is the number of games needed to accumulate in order to win a set

    • B.

      False, because the player captured 6 total games, and they must win 8 games in order to win a set

    • C.

      True, because when the score was 5-5 previously, this then states that players are now required to win 6 games in order to win a set

    • D.

      False, because when the score was 5-5 previously, this then states that players are now required to win 7 games in order to win a set

    Correct Answer
    D. False, because when the score was 5-5 previously, this then states that players are now required to win 7 games in order to win a set
  • 5. 

    In a USTA or ITF event, if two players play a match against each other with a best of 3 sets, meaning that either player has to win 2 sets first in order to win. If these two players split at 1-1 set all, instead of playing a 10-point tiebreaker, they are actually going to go play another 6-7 game standard set to decide the match. Right before continuing play, it is recommended that they change balls prior to 3rd and final set beginning.

    • A.

      True

    • B.

      False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    In USTA or ITF events, if two players are tied at 1-1 set all, instead of playing a 10-point tiebreaker, they play another 6-7 game standard set to decide the match. Before starting the 3rd and final set, it is recommended that they change balls.

    Rate this question:

  • 6. 

    If somebody calls out a "let" while two players are in the middle of their point, they restart the point again, and the returner must give a 1st serve and 2nd serve again to whoever is serving for that point

    • A.

      True

    • B.

      False

    Correct Answer
    A. True
    Explanation
    If somebody calls out a "let" while two players are in the middle of their point, it means that there was interference or a hindrance during the point. In this case, the point is restarted and the returner must give a 1st serve and 2nd serve again to the player who was serving for that point. This is to ensure fairness and give both players an equal chance to continue the point.

    Rate this question:

  • 7. 

    If a player loses a point, whether it's in a normal 0-15-30-40 game or a set, they __________.

    • A.

      Subtract 1 point from their score

    • B.

      Keep their score number, but yet award one point to the other player

    • C.

      Keep their score number, as well as the other player

    • D.

      Add 1 point from their score

    Correct Answer
    B. Keep their score number, but yet award one point to the other player
    Explanation
    When a player loses a point, they keep their score number, meaning their score does not change. However, they do award one point to the other player, which means the other player's score increases by one. This is the standard scoring system in tennis, where players accumulate points without subtracting or adding to their own score.

    Rate this question:

  • 8. 

    Suppose you get coded once for hindrance, abuse, foul language, time violation, coaching, etc. And yet you do it again once more, most likely an official or umpire will __________.

    • A.

      Award one point to the other player

    • B.

      Award one point to you

    • C.

      Subtract one point from you

    • D.

      Subtract one game from you

    Correct Answer
    A. Award one point to the other player
    Explanation
    If you engage in hindrance, abuse, foul language, time violation, coaching, etc. after already being coded once, it is likely that an official or umpire will award one point to the other player. This is a consequence for your repeated violation of the rules and is meant to penalize you by giving your opponent an advantage in the game.

    Rate this question:

  • 9. 

    If a player gets defaulted from a match, this means that ___________.

    • A.

      He/she won the match immediately

    • B.

      Both players are having the match postponed due to a direct delay

    • C.

      They both lose the match

    • D.

      He/she loses the match immediately (and awards it to the other player instead)

    Correct Answer
    D. He/she loses the match immediately (and awards it to the other player instead)
    Explanation
    If a player gets defaulted from a match, it means that he/she loses the match immediately and awards it to the other player instead.

    Rate this question:

  • 10. 

    Player #2 is serving at 5-5 (40-15). They then win the point that is played now at 40-15. What's the score afterward?

    • A.

      Player #2 wins that game (leading 6-5)

    • B.

      Player #1 loses that game (down 5-6)

    • C.

      Player #2 loses that game (down 5-6)

    • D.

      Player #1 wins that game (leading 6-5)

    Correct Answer(s)
    A. Player #2 wins that game (leading 6-5)
    B. Player #1 loses that game (down 5-6)
    Explanation
    After winning the point at 40-15, Player #2 will win the game and lead with a score of 6-5. On the other hand, Player #1 will lose the game and be down with a score of 5-6.

    Rate this question:

  • 11. 

    What is the only number of points given to players whenever they win a point?

    • A.

      1 point always 

    • B.

      2 points (If an umpire feels they played the point out incredibly amazing)

    • C.

      No points always

    • D.

      None of these are correct

    Correct Answer
    A. 1 point always 
    Explanation
    The only number of points given to players whenever they win a point is always 1. This means that regardless of the circumstances or the level of skill displayed, players are awarded only 1 point for winning a point.

    Rate this question:

  • 12. 

    If a player has to forfeit or retire during their match because of an injury, illness, personal cause, or other problems besides tennis, what happens next after this?

    • A.

      The player that forfeited/retired wins the match.

    • B.

      The player that didn't forfeit the match loses the match.

    • C.

      The player that forfeited/retired loses the match and must award it to the other player.

    • D.

      The match is postponed.

    Correct Answer
    C. The player that forfeited/retired loses the match and must award it to the other player.
    Explanation
    If a player has to forfeit or retire during their match due to an injury, illness, personal cause, or any other problems besides tennis, they lose the match and must award it to the other player. This is because forfeiting or retiring is considered a concession of the match, regardless of the reason behind it. The other player is declared the winner by default.

    Rate this question:

  • 13. 

    No matter what happens, one point will always be awarded to the player who won that point.

    • A.

      TRUE

    • B.

      FALSE

    Correct Answer
    A. TRUE
    Explanation
    This statement is stating that regardless of any circumstances, the player who wins a point will always be awarded one point. This implies that there are no exceptions or conditions where the winning player would not receive a point. Therefore, the statement is true.

    Rate this question:

  • 14. 

    Imagine that the server foot-faults on their 1st serve (which is the act for when the server crosses his/her front or back shoe crossing OVER the baseline PRIOR TO MAKING contact with the ball to serve); the rules say that he/she loses one serve each time a server gets called out for foot-faulting. But however, after being called once for foot faulting, they yet foot-fault AGAIN on their 2nd serve before playing out that exact same point. What are two things that just happened here?

    • A.

      They lose their 1st serve and now have to serve a 2nd serve. And since they foot-faulted on their 2nd serve right after being called once for foot-faulting, they are still given another opportunity to keep their 2nd serve and try again to not foot-fault.

    • B.

      They lose their 1st serve and now have to serve a 2nd serve. And since they foot-faulted on their 2nd serve right after being called once for foot-faulting, they now lose the point.

    • C.

      They keep their 1st serve again. And since they foot-faulted again, they now lose the point.

    • D.

      They keep their 1st serve again. And since they foot-faulted again, they now get a 2nd serve.

    Correct Answer
    B. They lose their 1st serve and now have to serve a 2nd serve. And since they foot-faulted on their 2nd serve right after being called once for foot-faulting, they now lose the point.
    Explanation
    The server loses their 1st serve and has to serve a 2nd serve. Since they foot-faulted on their 2nd serve right after being called once for foot-faulting, they now lose the point. This means that they not only lose the opportunity to serve again, but they also lose the point that was being played at that moment.

    Rate this question:

  • 15. 

    In between points, both players have only 20 seconds until the server must make contact with the ball to start off the next point. However, player #1 is serving and got a "time violation" delay warning from the umpire or official. However, player #1 got delayed again to serve; what are two things that just happened here?

    • A.

      1. Player #1 - "Time Violation" warning 2. Player #1 - "Time violation" loss of serve (if they get violated before hitting their second serve, they lose the point)

    • B.

      1. Player #1 - "Time Violation" point penalty 2. Player #1 - "Time Violation" default

    • C.

      1. Player #1 - "Time Violation" warning 2. Player #1 - "Time violation" point penalty

    • D.

      1. Player #1 - "Time Violation" point penalty 2. Player #1 - "Time Violation," but he/she keeps their serve

    Correct Answer
    A. 1. Player #1 - "Time Violation" warning 2. Player #1 - "Time violation" loss of serve (if they get violated before hitting their second serve, they lose the point)
    Explanation
    Player #1 received a "Time Violation" warning from the umpire or official for taking too long to serve. This serves as a warning to remind the player to adhere to the time limit. Additionally, because player #1 got delayed again to serve, they incurred a "Time violation" loss of serve. This means that if player #1 gets violated before hitting their second serve, they will lose the point. Therefore, two things just happened: a warning was given to player #1 for a time violation, and they also lost their serve due to a time violation.

    Rate this question:

Quiz Review Timeline +

Our quizzes are rigorously reviewed, monitored and continuously updated by our expert board to maintain accuracy, relevance, and timeliness.

  • Current Version
  • May 09, 2023
    Quiz Edited by
    ProProfs Editorial Team
  • May 04, 2023
    Quiz Created by
    Catherine Halcomb
Back to Top Back to top
Advertisement
×

Wait!
Here's an interesting quiz for you.

We have other quizzes matching your interest.