DMV Salesperson Practice Test

44 Questions | Total Attempts: 7315

SettingsSettingsSettings
DMV Salesperson Practice Test - Quiz

Hey, check out this interesting 'DMV salesperson practice test' that we have created below for you. As you would know, people in California need a vehicle salesperson license if they want to sell vehicles, vehicle contracts, or supervise vehicle sales or contracts for a dealer. The quiz below will help you pass the DMV salesperson practice test. So, give it a try and see how well you score. Wishing you good luck!


Questions and Answers
  • 1. 
    The IRS definition of “cash” does not include:
    • A. 

      Personal Checks

    • B. 

      Credit Cards

    • C. 

      Debit Cards

    • D. 

      All of the above

  • 2. 
    The IRS Cash Reporting Rule, enacted to prevent citizens from hiding unreported income, requires dealerships to complete and file IRS form 8300 when cash receipts exceed the following dollar amount:
    • A. 

      $1,000

    • B. 

      $5,000

    • C. 

      $10,000

    • D. 

      $16,000

  • 3. 
    What does the anti-structuring provision of the IRS Cash Reporting Rule prohibit?
    • A. 

      Purchaser's signature

    • B. 

      The actual distance the vehicle has been driven.

    • C. 

      Advising customers on how to get around the rule.

    • D. 

      All of the above.

  • 4. 
    The Federal Trade Commision Used Car Rule which sets out the warranty provisions of a sale is known as:
    • A. 

      Consignment vehicles.

    • B. 

      The Buyers guide window sticker rule.

    • C. 

      Warranties.

    • D. 

      A and C

  • 5. 
    The Buyers Guide is placed on a vehicle:
    • A. 

      After the point of sale is completed.

    • B. 

      During the demonstration.

    • C. 

      Before it is offered for sale.

    • D. 

      None of the above.

  • 6. 
    A Buyers Guide must be placed on:
    • A. 

      Demonstrators available for sale.

    • B. 

      Used trucks under 16,00 lbs. GVW.

    • C. 

      Consignment vehicles.

    • D. 

      All of the above.

    • E. 

      Just A & B.

  • 7. 
    What does the Federal Trade Commission Used Car Rule say about Dealers offering vehicles for sale at public auctions?
    • A. 

      Actual miles driven must not be shown.

    • B. 

      A guide doesn't have to be on a vehicle if the auction is open to the public.

    • C. 

      A guide must be on the vehicle if the auction is open to the public.

    • D. 

      A & C

  • 8. 
    Under the Federal trade Commission Used Car Rule, a vehicle can be sold “As Is”:
    • A. 

      And the service contract box on the Buyers Guide checked.

    • B. 

      And the service contract box on the Buyers Guide left unchecked.

    • C. 

      Only if the disclosure is printed on the back of the buyers order.

    • D. 

      B & C

  • 9. 
    When giving a warranty on a used vehicle the dealer must:
    • A. 

      Give the customer a copy of the Buyers Guide window sticker.

    • B. 

      Give the customer a warranty document containing certain specific phrases.

    • C. 

      Give the customer a demonstration.

    • D. 

      All of the above

    • E. 

      Just A & B.

  • 10. 
    What is the penalty for violating the disclosure provisions of the Virginia Dealer Licensing Act's "As Is" law?
    • A. 

      $10,000 Civil penalty.

    • B. 

      $1,000 Civil penalty.

    • C. 

      Customer may return the vehicle.

    • D. 

      A & C.

    • E. 

      B & C.

  • 11. 
    A vehicle must be inspected:
    • A. 

      Before it comes to the dealer.

    • B. 

      Between the time it comes into a dealers inventory and the time it is sold at retail.

    • C. 

      When it become's the customer's property, after the sale.

    • D. 

      All of the above.

  • 12. 
    If a vehicle does not pass inspection:
    • A. 

      The dealer may bring it into compliance.

    • B. 

      The dealer may drive the vehicle with a valid inspection sticker and written disclosure, which may be in the form of an official inspection receipt.

    • C. 

      The dealer cannot rent a vehicle without a rental license issued by the Virginia Department of Taxation.

    • D. 

      All of the above.

    • E. 

      Just A & B.

  • 13. 
    A dealer licensed as a franchise or independent dealer may buy and sell motorcycles, trailer, and motor homes if they have the proper:
    • A. 

      License issued by MVDB.

    • B. 

      License issued by DMV.

    • C. 

      License issued by Ford.

    • D. 

      B & C.

  • 14. 
    A second set of tags may be issued to a customer if:
    • A. 

      The title is not available after the 30 day period, and is to be titled and registered out of state.

    • B. 

      All paperwork is to be submitted to DMV along with an explanation as to why a second set needs to be issued.

    • C. 

      All required fees are submitted to the Department of Motor Vehicles before authorization of temporary tags may be issued.

    • D. 

      All of the above.

  • 15. 
    When issuing temporary license plates, the dealer:
    • A. 

      May charge the customer for fees they were charged plus a service fee.

    • B. 

      Does not charge a fee.

    • C. 

      May not charge the customer more than the fees charged the dealer for the plates.

  • 16. 
    Temporary transport plates may be issued no more than:
    • A. 

      3 days

    • B. 

      4 days

    • C. 

      5 days

    • D. 

      One week

  • 17. 
    A salesperson "certificate of qualification":
    • A. 

      Gives you the legal right to sell cars anywhere, anytime.

    • B. 

      Must be obtained before applying for a salespersons license.

    • C. 

      Allows you to buy cars from a Dealer Only wholesale auction.

  • 18. 
    Temporary transport plates may be used to:
    • A. 

      Transport vehicles from auction or other points of purchase or sale.

    • B. 

      Use in case of emergency.

    • C. 

      Put on inventory cars while in the dealers lot.

    • D. 

      All of the above.

  • 19. 
    If a financing company denies a loan application, it must:
    • A. 

      Charge a fee to the applicant.

    • B. 

      Provide the applicant with a written statement explaining the reason of denial within 30 days.

    • C. 

      Charge a fee to the inquirer.

    • D. 

      All of the above.

  • 20. 
    When discussing a customer's loan application, the following cannot be asked:
    • A. 

      "Are you single?"

    • B. 

      "Are you married?"

    • C. 

      "Are you seeing anyone right now?"

  • 21. 
    Under the Truth in Lending Act, when financing an automobile, which of the following charges have to be disclosed to the customer:
    • A. 

      Annual percentage rate.

    • B. 

      Buyers guide.

    • C. 

      Fees for dealer plates.

  • 22. 
    What is the penalty for violating the Federal Trade Commission Used Car Rule?
    • A. 

      $100

    • B. 

      $5,000

    • C. 

      $16,000

    • D. 

      $100,000

  • 23. 
    A dealer can sell a vehicle "As Is" or without a warranty in Virginia?
    • A. 

      True.

    • B. 

      False.

  • 24. 
    The customer does not have to receive a copy of the odometer statement?
    • A. 

      True.

    • B. 

      False.

  • 25. 
    Under the Federal Trade Commission Used Car Rule, the terms of the warranty as stated on the buyers guide:
    • A. 

      Cannot be changed.

    • B. 

      Can be changed without a note on the original guide or on a new guide.

    • C. 

      Can be changed and noted on the original guide or on a new guide.

Back to Top Back to top
×

Wait!
Here's an interesting quiz for you.

We have other quizzes matching your interest.