Texas Psb Pre-exam Practice Test. This Is Not A Real Test!

35 Questions  I  By Texas123
Please take the quiz to rate it.

Texas Quizzes & Trivia
Alarm Company Manager & Supervisor Practice Test - This test was created to help me and people I know, and you to practice for the State Exam for Qualified Managers and Supervisors in the Alarm Industry. I created this test from scratch by going through the Texas Occupation Code 1702 and the PSB rules chapter 35. This is in no way a reproduction of the real test as that would violate rules set forth in 35. 61. Again, this is a mock exam created totally from scratch using public information provided in the act 1702 and the rules in chapter 35. With that said, Good luck. . .

  
Changes are done, please start the quiz.


Questions and Answers

Removing question excerpt is a premium feature

Upgrade and get a lot more done!
  • 1. 
    A applicant for a license must be at least 18 years old and must NOT
    • A. 

      have been convicted in any jurisdiction of two or more felony offenses, unless full pardons have been granted for all convictions for reasons relating to wrongful convictions

    • B. 

      Have been dishonorably discharged from the United States armed services, discharged from the United States armed services under other conditions determined by the board to be prohibitive, or dismissed from the United States armed services if a commissioned officer in the United States armed services

    • C. 

      Have a speeding ticket in the last two years

    • D. 

      Answer A and B


  • 2. 
    An applicant for a license to engage in the business of a security services contractor or the applicant's manager must have, before the date of the application
    • A. 

      Have been living in the State of Texas for more then 5 years.

    • B. 

      Have been known to enjoy working in the alarm industry.

    • C. 

      Have two consecutive years experience in each security services field for which the person applies as an employee, manager, or owner.

    • D. 

      Have five consecutive years experience in each security services field for which the person applies as an employee, manager, or owner.


  • 3. 
    Public Information - 1702.085 Confidentially of RecordsIs the Name, Phone number, Address & Drivers License number of an applicant or a License Holder considered public information?
    • A. 

      Yes, this information is public information!

    • B. 

      No, it's confidential information under Government code chapter 552

    • C. 

      Yes, this information can be found on the PSB website.

    • D. 

      No, it's confidential information under the Texas privacy act chapter 629 of Government code.


  • 4. 
    1702.102In the state of Texas unless a person holds a license as a security services contractor, a person may NOT;
    • A. 

      Offer to sell & Install a security camera system

    • B. 

      Offer to sell & Install a burglar alarm system

    • C. 

      Act as an alarm company

    • D. 

      All of the above, A, B & C


  • 5. 
    1702.102Unless the person holds a license as a security services contractor, a person may NOT:
    • A. 

      Act as an alarm systems company, armored car company, courier company, guard company, guard dog company, locksmith company, or private security consultant company

    • B. 

      Engage in business activity for which a license is required under chapter 1702 Texas Occupation Code

    • C. 

      Offer to sell & install a security camera system

    • D. 

      All of the above A, B & C


  • 6. 
    A person that holds a "Security Sales Person" license can also install camera and alarm system.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

    • C. 

      It depends on their age

    • D. 

      It depends on the experience level


  • 7. 
    Once a Owner or Qualified manager for a company follows the proper procedures to terminate a License or Branch Office License they can come back later and have that license reinstated. 
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

    • C. 

      Only after 1 year has passed

    • D. 

      Only if they do it before 1 year has passed


  • 8. 
    Fees submitted to the Private Security Board are refundable
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

    • C. 

      True if there is a really good reason

    • D. 

      True if the person or company knows someone on the board really well.


  • 9. 
    When a qualified manager or supervisor of a license has terminated his position, and the board has been timely notified of the termination in writing within 14 days of the termination, the business may continue to operate for how many days?
    • A. 

      30 days

    • B. 

      60 days

    • C. 

      90 days

    • D. 

      Six months


  • 10. 
    Why is it important to read all mail from the Private Security Board immediately?
    • A. 

      It's not important because the board sends a lot of junk mail

    • B. 

      Because much of the notices the you may receive are very time sensitive.

    • C. 

      The board uses mail to communicate important information to license holders

    • D. 

      B & C but not A


  • 11. 
    Licensed companies must keep the following information on file for two years from the last date of employment of all employees licensed by the Private Security Board
    • A. 

      Full name, date of employment, position, address, social security number, one color photograph & date and place of birth.

    • B. 

      Full name, date of employment, position, address, social security number, one color photograph

    • C. 

      Full name, date of employment, position, address, social security number

    • D. 

      None of the above


  • 12. 
    Why does the Private Security Board regulate the security services industry?
    • A. 

      They are buds with the big companies and regulation limits competition from the little guys

    • B. 

      Regulation brings in a lot of money for the State through fines and fees

    • C. 

      Regulation protects the public from shady operators in the security industry

    • D. 

      B & C but not A


  • 13. 
    What year did the Private Security Board start regulating the security industry?
    • A. 

      1998

    • B. 

      2001

    • C. 

      2005

    • D. 

      2008


  • 14. 
    Is operating with out a license a crime that is punishable by law with fines and possible jail time for violators?
    • A. 

      No, getting licensed is not a matter of law, is a voluntary program

    • B. 

      No, the PSB and only impose fines, not jail sentences.

    • C. 

      Yes, it's a crime and there can be fees and jail time involved.

    • D. 

      Yes and NO, it depends on the situation.


  • 15. 
    Rule - 35.43 - Class BIf a person was dishonorably discharged from the United States Armed Services based on a criminal charge equivalent to a class B misdemeanor they can NOT be licensed by the Private Security Board for how long?
    • A. 

      5 Years

    • B. 

      10 Years

    • C. 

      It's up to the board to decide, there is no time factor.

    • D. 

      They are not limited and may get a license if they apply.


  • 16. 
    Can a registered sex offender get a license to work in the security industry
    • A. 

      No, they are a total public danger

    • B. 

      Yes, this is not a disqualifying offense.

    • C. 

      It's possible if the Private Security Board determines it's OK.

    • D. 

      Yes, if they can show that they don't like sex anymore.


  • 17. 
    Once a licensee had been issues a pocket card by the board the card is good for
    • A. 

      1 year

    • B. 

      2 years

    • C. 

      3 years

    • D. 

      4 years


  • 18. 
    Can someone that holds a seller certificate install an alarm system?
    • A. 

      No, they can only sell equipment

    • B. 

      Yes, they have a certificate to sell so they can install too

    • C. 

      Yes, but only if they think no one will find out.

    • D. 

      None if the above


  • 19. 
    Which of the following is true about displaying a license number on company vehicles
    • A. 

      All vehicles owned by a company must display a license number

    • B. 

      Any vehicle with the company name on it must display the license number.

    • C. 

      It's not required to have your license number to be displayed on any vehicles.

    • D. 

      The license number only has to be displayed if a VAN is being used


  • 20. 
    Rule - 35.43 - Class A - If a person was dishonorably discharged from the United States Armed Services based on a criminal charge equivalent to a class A misdemeanor they can NOT be licensed by the Private Security Board for how long?
    • A. 

      5 years

    • B. 

      10 years

    • C. 

      15 years

    • D. 

      It's up to the board to decide, there is no time factor.


  • 21. 
    We know that all licensed companies must have a "Qualified Manager".  Can a company have more then one manager?
    • A. 

      Yes, the company needs to have one manager per branch office.

    • B. 

      Yes, as many as the owner thinks he needs.

    • C. 

      No, A license holders company must be under the control of one manager.

    • D. 

      Yes, the State Of Texas requires one manager for record keeping and one manager for outside operations.


  • 22. 
    Do all manager and supervisors have to take a written exam administered by the Private Security Board?
    • A. 

      Yes, as stated in rule 35.61

    • B. 

      Yes, as required in code 1702.326

    • C. 

      No, Only Managers have to take a exam

    • D. 

      No, Only the company owner has to take an exam


  • 23. 
    Rule 35.61How many days does the recipient of a summery suspension notice for a Class B misdemeanor offense or equivalent have to request a "Stay Of Suspension"?
    • A. 

      10 working days

    • B. 

      5 working days

    • C. 

      3 working days

    • D. 

      Once a suspension has been issued it is irreversible.


  • 24. 
    If you have a Class A or a Class B license and you upgrade to a Class C license do you have to pay the difference between the cost of these licenses?
    • A. 

      Yes, you have to pay the difference in addition to the regular assignment fee.

    • B. 

      No, as long as you are already licensed there is no charge to upgrade.

    • C. 

      Yes, but only if you have had your license for less then 5 years.

    • D. 

      Yes, but only if you have had your license for less then 10 years.


  • 25. 
    35.71How many days does a licensed company have to notify the Private Security Board if the Qualified Manager's employment is terminated?
    • A. 

      60 days - You need time to find a new manager.

    • B. 

      90 days - You need even more time to find a manager.

    • C. 

      14 Days

    • D. 

      Your not required to notify the board if the Qualified Manager leaves the company.


  • 26. 
    35.74If your license or registration is revoked by the Private Security Board can you reapply for a new license?
    • A. 

      Yes, but only after 10 years has passed.

    • B. 

      Yes, but only after 5 years has passed.

    • C. 

      Yes, but only after 1 year has passed.

    • D. 

      No, once your revoked it's final. You can not reapply.


  • 27. 
    35.72How many sets of finger prints have to be submitted with an application?
    • A. 

      One set so that your criminal background can be checked out.

    • B. 

      One set so that your FBI back ground can be checked out.

    • C. 

      Two sets, both A & B are true.

    • D. 

      Three sets, one for the criminal back ground check, one for the FBI back ground check and one to mail to homeland security.


  • 28. 
    35.116If you hold any registration or License will your license be suspended if you are arrested for convicted of a DWI?
    • A. 

      No, DWI is not a valid reason under the boards rules to suspend your license.

    • B. 

      No, as long as you were not speeding when you got pulled over.

    • C. 

      Yes, but only if your license is a Motorcycle Escort license.

    • D. 

      Yes, your license will be suspended right away.


  • 29. 
    How many days does any License holder or registrant have to notify the board of change of address?
    • A. 

      14 days

    • B. 

      29 days

    • C. 

      60 days

    • D. 

      90 days


  • 30. 
    How  long is a licensed company required to keep records on a employee?
    • A. 

      One year after termination

    • B. 

      One year from the date of employment

    • C. 

      Three years from the date of employment

    • D. 

      Two years from the date of employment


  • 31. 
    All records required to be kept under the provisions of the Act and the rules shall be made available for inspection by bureau staff when?
    • A. 

      24 hours a day

    • B. 

      From 8:00 am to 5 pm

    • C. 

      From 7:00 am to 3:30 pm

    • D. 

      During normal business hours


  • 32. 
    What action will the Private Security Board likely take if you fail to notify them within 14 days of the termination of the license holders qualified manager?
    • A. 

      They will send a notice to you to remind you that you need to get a new manager right away.

    • B. 

      They may suspend or revoke the license holder's license.

    • C. 

      The license holder will be fined 1,000.00 dollars and spend 5 days in jail.

    • D. 

      The license holder will be fined 1,000.00 dollars.


  • 33. 
    Once a license holders license has been revoked can they have it reinstated?
    • A. 

      According to 1702.369 a revoked license may not be reinstated unless 5 years has passed.

    • B. 

      According to 1702.369 a revoked license may not be reinstated unless 10 years has passed.

    • C. 

      According to 1702.369 a revoked license may not be reinstated

    • D. 

      According to 1702.369 a revoked license may not be reinstated unless the Licensee is on the board.


  • 34. 
    If a person who is not licensed or does not have a license pending commits a violation of the Private Security Act 1702 or any of the rules in chapter 35 may have a civil penalty assessed against them that should not exceed, how much?
    • A. 

      $5,000.00

    • B. 

      $10,000.00

    • C. 

      $15,000.00

    • D. 

      $20,000.00


  • 35. 
    35.36 Consumer InformationA licensee shall, either orally or in writing, notify all consumers or recipients of services of their license number and the name, mailing address, and telephone number of the Private Security Bureau for the purpose of directing complaints. True or False?
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False


Back to top

Removing ad is a premium feature

Upgrade and get a lot more done!
Take Another Quiz
We have sent an email with your new password.