2010 California Driving: Practice Written Test

26 Questions  I  By Charlesjcj
Please take the quiz to rate it.

California Driver Exam Quizzes & Trivia
This will help you pass your written test. It will help you get to know the California vehicle code. There is 26 multiple choice questions. Good Luck!!! Also you should look for a Practice quiz on the California road signs. Knowing your signs are important.

  
or Create Online Test
Changes are done, please start the quiz.


Questions and Answers

Removing question excerpt is a premium feature

Upgrade and get a lot more done!
  • 1. 
    When pulling out from a curb parking space:
    • A. 

      Do not start until you can move with reasonable safety.

    • B. 

      Give an arm signal and sound your horn as a warning, then start moving away from the curb.

    • C. 

      Signal, then pull out into traffic after yielding to three vehicles.


  • 2. 
    When entering or crossing a highway from public or private property or from an              alley, which must yield the right of way?
    • A. 

      The car entering the highway.

    • B. 

      The car traveling on the highway.

    • C. 

      Neither car.


  • 3. 
    When two vehicles enter an intersection at the same time from different highways not      controlled by stop signs, traffic signals, or yield right-of-way signs:
    • A. 

      The driver of the vehicle on the right shall yield the right-of-way to the vehicle on the left.

    • B. 

      The driver of the vehicle on the left shall yield the right-of-way to the vehicle on the right.

    • C. 

      Both vehicles must stop.


  • 4. 
    You must never leave a child under 6 years of age in a vehicle unless the child is            supervised by a person:
    • A. 

      Age 10 or older.

    • B. 

      Age 12 or older.

    • C. 

      Age 18 or older.


  • 5. 
    California has an allowable Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) of less than .10%.            Drivers age 21 and older are presumed to be Driving Under the Influence (DUI) with a      BAC of at least:
    • A. 

      .10%

    • B. 

      .08%

    • C. 

      .05%


  • 6. 
    All states have a Zero Tolerance Law for drivers under age 21 to prevent their driving     with any "measurable" amount of alcohol. In California, drivers younger than 21 may     not drive a motor vehicle with a BAC of:
    • A. 

      .01% or more.

    • B. 

      .04% or more.

    • C. 

      .08% or more.


  • 7. 
    If you are arrested for driving under the influence and you refuse to submit to a               chemical test of the alcohol in your body, your license will be suspended for:
    • A. 

      90 days.

    • B. 

      6 months.

    • C. 

      1 year.


  • 8. 
    Abandoning or dumping an unwanted animal on a highway may be punished by:
    • A. 

      A fine up to $1,000.

    • B. 

      Up to 6 months in county jail.

    • C. 

      Both the fine and jail sentence.


  • 9. 
    You must never drive faster, under the Basic Speed Law, than:
    • A. 

      The speed of other traffic.

    • B. 

      It is safe, with due consideration to weather, visibility, traffic, and the safety of others.

    • C. 

      You determine is reasonable.


  • 10. 
    When passing school grounds where a school warning sign is posted and children         are going to or coming from school, the speed limit is:
    • A. 

      25 mph, unless posted lower.

    • B. 

      35 mph.

    • C. 

      30 mph after 12 noon.


  • 11. 
    The speed limit in a business district is:
    • A. 

      25 mph.

    • B. 

      30 mph

    • C. 

      35 mph.


  • 12. 
    If a vehicle is moving slowly on a two-lane highway, holding up traffic, it must turn         off at a turnout or other safe place if closely followed by:
    • A. 

      Three vehicles.

    • B. 

      Five vehicles.

    • C. 

      Neither of these. It should speed up to the speed of the following vehicles.


  • 13. 
    Turn signals must be given continuously for:
    • A. 

      200 feet before turning.

    • B. 

      100 feet before turning.

    • C. 

      3 to 5 seconds before turning.


  • 14. 
    A two-way left-turn lane in the middle of a street will show pavement striping on             each side of this lane as follows:
    • A. 

      Two solid lines.

    • B. 

      Solid lines outside, dashed lines inside.

    • C. 

      Dashed outside lines, solid inside lines.


  • 15. 
    If a left turn can be made from two designated left-turn lanes, you can start a U-turn         from:
    • A. 

      Either lane.

    • B. 

      Only the left-most turn lane.

    • C. 

      Both lanes, unless a sign prevents it.


  • 16. 
    The correct position in the street from which to make a left-hand turn is:
    • A. 

      From any part of the street, provided you signal, as well as look into the rearview mirror.

    • B. 

      From the extreme left-hand lane lawfully available to traffic moving in the same direction of travel.

    • C. 

      It doesn't matter unless you cut the corner by turning before entering the intersection.


  • 17. 
    A driver may make a right turn at an intersection:
    • A. 

      Only from the lane next to the right curb.

    • B. 

      From the right-most lane, or from another lane or lanes marked for a right turn.

    • C. 

      Only if other drivers are turning from the additional lane or lanes.


  • 18. 
    Pedestrians have the right of way in crosswalks:
    • A. 

      Only in business districts.

    • B. 

      When crossing in a marked crosswalk or unmarked crosswalk at an intersection.

    • C. 

      Only in a marked crosswalk.


  • 19. 
    When another car has stopped at a marked or unmarked crosswalk at an                          intersection to permit a pedestrian to cross, you may pass the stopped car:
    • A. 

      On the right if the pedestrian is crossing toward the left, or on the left if the pedestrian is crossing toward the right.

    • B. 

      On either side if the pedestrian is in front of the stopped vehicles.

    • C. 

      Under no circumstances.


  • 20. 
    A driver must stop for a stopped school bus with its red lights flashing when:
    • A. 

      The bus is on the opposite side of a divided highway.

    • B. 

      The bus is on the opposite side of a multilane highway.

    • C. 

      The bus is at an intersection controlled by a traffic signal.


  • 21. 
    A driver convicted of passing a stopped school bus displaying flashing red lights           can be punished as follows:
    • A. 

      By a fine of up to $100 for each violation, no matter how many.

    • B. 

      Not at all--because the bus is stopped, it's not a moving violation.

    • C. 

      By a $150--$250 first-offense fine, a $500--$1,000 second-offense fine, and a one-year suspension for a third offense within three years.


  • 22. 
    If your vehicle is disabled on the roadway and is equipped with a working four-way         flasher device:
    • A. 

      You may activate the flashers if you reasonably believe your vehicle creates a hazard.

    • B. 

      You must activate the flashers as a warning to other motorists.

    • C. 

      You need activate the flashers only if disabled 30 minutes or later after sunset.


  • 23. 
    The driver of a vehicle involved in any accident resulting in injury to or death of any       person must make a written report to the California Highway Patrol or, if in a city, to      either the CHP or the local police department. 
    • A. 

      Within 10 days.

    • B. 

      Within 24 hours.

    • C. 

      At the scene of the accident.


  • 24. 
    Which of these painted curb colors--and parking indicators--is not authorized?
    • A. 

      Red--no stopping, standing, or parking except for buses.

    • B. 

      Orange-- parking for construction workers.

    • C. 

      Blue--parking for the disabled.


  • 25. 
    A child must be buckled into an approved safety seat if he or she is: 
    • A. 

      Under 6 years old and less than 60 pounds.

    • B. 

      Under 6 years old or less than 60 pounds.

    • C. 

      Under 8 years old and less than 80 pounds.


  • 26. 
    The penalty for attempting to evade, flee, or otherwise elude a pursuing officer is:
    • A. 

      Five years in state prison.

    • B. 

      Up to one year in the county jail.

    • C. 

      Three years in the county jail.


Back to top

Removing ad is a premium feature

Upgrade and get a lot more done!
Take Another Quiz
We have sent an email with your new password.