The Great Canadian Hockey Quiz

14 Questions  I  By WinnipegFreePress
Please take the quiz to rate it.

Hockey Quizzes & Trivia

  
Changes are done, please start the quiz.


Questions and Answers

Removing question excerpt is a premium feature

Upgrade and get a lot more done!
  • 1. 
    What is the determining factor for offside at the blue line?
    • A. 

      Position of the puck

    • B. 

      Position of the players' skates

    • C. 

      Position of the players' stick

    • D. 

      Position of the players' body


  • 2. 
    The puck is shot by a player standing behind the centre red line. The puck goes down through the goal crease and over the goal line. Does the referee:
    • A. 

      Wash out the icing.

    • B. 

      Call icing.


  • 3. 
    With the puck along the boards, a player who is about to be checked turns at the last moment, creating contact from behind. Should a checking from behind penalty be assessed?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No


  • 4. 
    How many conditions must be met before a referee can call a penalty shot?
    • A. 

      Two

    • B. 

      Three

    • C. 

      Four

    • D. 

      Five


  • 5. 
    The referee has signaled a delayed minor penalty for checking from behind on a player of Team A. Team B scores before the play is stopped. The referee would:
    • A. 

      Wash out the minor penalty but assess the game misconduct penalty.

    • B. 

      Wash out both penalties to Team A, as Team B scored.

    • C. 

      Assess minor penalty and a game misconduct for checking from behind.

    • D. 

      Wash out the goal and assess both the minor and game misconduct.


  • 6. 
    Team A is serving a minor penalty. The referee signals a delayed penalty to Team A. Team B scores a goal prior to the stoppage of play. Which penalty automatically expires once a goal has been scored?
    • A. 

      The minor penalty on delay.

    • B. 

      The minor penalty being served.

    • C. 

      No penalty expires.


  • 7. 
    During a stoppage in play to attend to an injured player, the goaltender from Team A notices a strap on his pads has become damaged. He skates to his own bench to have it repaired. After the injured player is off the ice, the referee notices the goaltender at the bench having his equipment repaired, after which he returns to his net before resumption of play. The official must:
    • A. 

      Warn the goalie to ask for permission before attending to his own bench.

    • B. 

      Give the bench 30 seconds to repair the equipment or be assessed a minor penalty for delay of game.

    • C. 

      Assess a minor penalty for delay of game against the goaltender.


  • 8. 
    A goaltender has her stick knocked from her hand into the corner. One of her teammates sees this, skates into the corner and,  using her stick, shoots the stick back to the goaltender as the play leaves her end of the rink. The referee would:
    • A. 

      Assess a minor penalty for interference to the player that shot the stick to the goaltender.

    • B. 

      Assess a penalty to the goaltender for illegally receiving a stick.

    • C. 

      Assess no penalty.


  • 9. 
    Team A is serving a minor penalty. During the play, a player from Team B is tripped on a clear breakaway. The referee assesses a penalty shot. The player from Team B scores. What happens to the player in the penalty box?
    • A. 

      He stays in the box to serve out the remainder of his penalty.

    • B. 

      His penalty is washed out as a result of the successful penalty shot.


  • 10. 
    At the 4:00 mark of a period, two players (one from each team) take coincidental minor penalties. Substitutions are made and both teams play at full strength. Thirty seconds later, a second player from Team B is penalized. Another 30 seconds after that, Team A scores. The officials must:
    • A. 

      Cancel the first penalty against Team B and release the player who has served the longest time in the penalty box.

    • B. 

      Cancel the second penalty against Team B because that player caused his team to be shorthanded.

    • C. 

      Cancel neither penalty against Team B because the first penalties were deemed to be "coincidental."


  • 11. 
    Following a heated game, the teams return to their dressing rooms, where a coach from Team A and another coach from Team B get into a verbal confrontation. The referees, who have just arrived at the dressing rooms, witness the incident. As a result, the officials can:
    • A. 

      Break up the altercation but assess no penalties, as the incident took place after the game and away from the ice.

    • B. 

      If warranted, assess penalties and add them to the game sheet.


  • 12. 
    Team A has pulled their goaltender in a bid to tie a game. With an extra skater on the ice, a player Team B gets full control of the puck and starts skating towards the open net on a clear breakaway with all of the players from Team B behind him. Before he and the puck cross the blue line, a water bottle from Team A’s bench is thrown on the ice in the direction of the player with the puck. The referee must:
    • A. 

      Assess a minor penalty for interference to Team A.

    • B. 

      Call a penalty shot and give Team A an opportunity to replace its goaltender.

    • C. 

      Award Team B a goal, as the player was a clear break toward an empty net.


  • 13. 
    A player from Team A skates to the boards to retrieve a puck. Once there, he gains control of the puck, and pivots with his back to the boards. After he pivots, a player from Team B arrives and checks him violently into the boards. He coasts into the check, does not make contact with the other player’s head, and does not leave his feet. The referee can:
    • A. 

      Assess no penalty as the player with the puck took no steps to protect himself.

    • B. 

      Assess no penalty because the player along the boards was facing the player who checked him.

    • C. 

      Assess a penalty for boarding.


  • 14. 
    A player from Team A is rushing the puck into the attacking zone when a player from Team B tries to cut her off. The Team B player dives and as she slides along the ice, and her shoulder makes contact with the skates of the Team A player, knocking her to the ice. In this instance, the referee would:
    • A. 

      Call no penalty as a sliding player cannot be penalized for being unable to control his/her body while sliding across the ice.

    • B. 

      Call no penalty as it was the sliding player's shoulder that made contact with the other player's skates.

    • C. 

      Call a minor penalty for tripping.


Back to top

Removing ad is a premium feature

Upgrade and get a lot more done!
Take Another Quiz
We have sent an email with your new password.