Stump The Ump Quiz 7

5 Questions | Total Attempts: 126

SettingsSettingsSettings
Please wait...
Stump The Ump Quiz 7

Test your knowledge of High School Fast Pitch Softball National Federation Rules (NFHS). Please Enter your First and Last Name to begin.


Questions and Answers
  • 1. 
    With R1 on third base and R2 on first, while on the rubber, F1 flips the ball from her glove to her hand then looks in for the sign.  F1 then begins her motion but before she releases the ball, R2 leaves first in an attempt to steal 2nd.
    • A. 

      Dead ball, illegal pitch, R1 scores, R2 is awarded 2nd and a ball awarded to B3.

    • B. 

      Dead ball, no pitch. R1 remains at 3rd and R2 is out for leaving the base early.

    • C. 

      Delayed dead ball, illegal pitch, R1 scores, R2 is awarded 2nd and a ball is awarded to B3.

    • D. 

      Dead ball. R2 is out for leaving early but R1 is awarded home for the illegal pitch and a ball is awarded to B3.

  • 2. 
    B1 hits a slow grounder to F5 who makes it a close play at 1st but B1 is called safe.  Thinking she was out, B1 jogs over to her first base dugout entrance but does not step into the dugout.
    • A. 

      B1 is out for abandoning her base.

    • B. 

      Since she did not enter the dugout, she can still go back to first if not tagged with the ball.

    • C. 

      Since she did not enter the dugout, B1 is permitted to take 1st base without jeopardy of being put out.

  • 3. 
    With R1 on 3rd, B2 is awarded a base on balls.  F2 immediately returns the ball to F1 in the circle who keeps the ball in her glove at her side.  B2 rounds first base without stopping and moves toward second.  Half way to 2nd base, B2 stops...
    • A. 

      After a brief stop, B2 may immediately continue on to 2nd base.

    • B. 

      After a brief stop, B2 may immediately return to 1st base.

    • C. 

      B2 is out for stopping while the ball is in the circle and no play is being made on her.

    • D. 

      Since B2 stopped, she may only return to 1st.

    • E. 

      Both A & B are correct

  • 4. 
    In the top of the first, the pitcher leads off the game with a single.  The coach calls time and sends in #11, one of his substitutes as a courtesy runner.  B2 hits a single moving the courtesy runner to 3rd.  At this time the coach again calls time and uses another legal substitute, #13 for the courtesy runner.
    • A. 

      #13 is considered a substitute for the pitcher. The pitcher is now out of the game and has one re-entry left.

    • B. 

      #13 is the new courtesy runner.

    • C. 

      Illegal. 2 different courtesy runners can not be used for the pitcher

    • D. 

      Illegal. The courtesy runner may not be replaced with anyone other than the pitcher.

  • 5. 
    With bases loaded and 1 out, B5 hits a fly to F8 for the 2nd out.  All base runners tag up and advance one base.  F8's throw to 3rd retires R2 for the third out, but after R1 scored.  R3 left 1st before F8 touched the ball.  The defensive team properly appeals R3 leaving too soon.
    • A. 

      There can't be a fourth out recorded. So the appeal does not change the scoring of R1.

    • B. 

      R3 is called out for the 4th out and R1 does not score.

    • C. 

      A fourth or fifth out can be recorded but in this case, since R3 was not a force out, R1 would still score.

Related Topics
Back to Top Back to top