Stump The Ump Quiz 8

6 Questions | Total Attempts: 176

SettingsSettingsSettings
Please wait...
Stump The Ump Quiz 8

Test your knowledge of High School Fast Pitch Softball National Federation Rules (NFHS). Since umpires are required to know scorekeeping (Rule 9) but few study it, these questions will deal directly with that topic. Please Enter your First and Last Name to begin.


Questions and Answers
  • 1. 
    With 2 outs in the top of the third and the home team ahead 8-0, the home team coach replaces the starting pitcher with S1 who finishes the game.  The game officially ends after 4 1/2 innings with the home team winning 22-0.
    • A. 

      The starting pitcher is credited with the win.

    • B. 

      S1 is credited with the win.

    • C. 

      Neither pitcher is credited with a win since neither pitched 4 innings.

  • 2. 
    With a count of 1 ball and 2 strikes, the coach replaces B1 with S1 who takes a called strike. 
    • A. 

      B1 is charged with a strikeout.

    • B. 

      S1 assumes the count, therefore is charged with the strikeout.

    • C. 

      Since B1 is replaced, S1 starts with a 0-0 count and her count is now 0-1.

    • D. 

      Illegal substitution. You can not substitute in the middle of an at bat unless there is an injury.

  • 3. 
    R1 is attempting a steal of 2nd when an illegal pitch is called.  R1 reaches 2nd safely during the delayed dead ball.  In the scorekeeper's judgment, the runner would have reached 2nd safely even without the illegal pitch being called.  Therefore, R1 is entitled to a stolen base.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 4. 
    With no outs and runners on 1st and 3rd, B3 hits into a 5-6-3 double play with R1 scoring on the play.  For scorekeeping purposes, B3 is not credited with an RBI.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 5. 
    B1 hits the ball in the gap to left-center and reaches second base safely.  However, after a legal appeal, B1 is out for missing 1st base.
    • A. 

      The putout is credited to F3 and B1 is credited with a double.

    • B. 

      The putout is credited to F3 and B1 is credited with a single.

    • C. 

      The putout is credited to F3 and B1 is not credited with a hit.

  • 6. 
    With no outs and R1 on 1st, B2 hits a ground ball which hits R1 (who was trying to avoid getting hit by the batted ball) in the foot just in front of F4.
    • A. 

      Delayed dead ball. R1 is out and B2 is credited with a base hit if not thrown out at first base.

    • B. 

      Delayed dead ball. R1 is out and B2 is credited with a fielder's choice if not thrown out at first base.

    • C. 

      Dead ball. R1 is out and B2 is credited with a fielder's choice.

    • D. 

      Dead ball. R1 is out and B2 is credited with a base hit.

Related Topics
Back to Top Back to top