Saydel Golf Quiz

36 Questions

Settings
Please wait...
Saydel Golf Quiz

There are a total of thirty-five questions: 19 true/false and 16 multiple-choice.


Questions and Answers
  • 1. 
    Grounding your club in a hazard or sand trap your ball is currently in is a one stroke penalty
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 2. 
    A competitor is disqualified from a competition if they sign for a score lower then the score they actually got on a certain hole. 
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 3. 
    The most clubs a competitor can have in their bag during a meet is 14.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 4. 
    A player is permitted to bend a branch of a tree with his hands in order to get under a tree to play a ball; this constitutes fairly taking a stance.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 5. 
    A player may ask another player what club they are using on a certain shot. 
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 6. 
    A ball is deemed lost as soon as a player drops a ball under stroke and distance, even if he searched only briefly, and the original ball was found within the five-minute search period before he made a stroke at the dropped ball.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 7. 
    If while putting your ball hits the flagstick laying on the ground, you must take a two stroke penalty. 
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 8. 
    A wrong ball includes another player's ball, an abandoned ball, and the player's original ball when it is no longer in play. 
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 9. 
    If there is a disagreement in the group about how to handle a certain situation, the player should finish the hole however they see fit. 
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 10. 
    A player makes a practice swing and accidentally moves his ball with his club; he has not made a stroke and incurs no penalty.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 11. 
    Loose impediments can be moved provided they do not move the ball.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 12. 
    A player may borrow a club from another player during a meet without penalty. 
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 13. 
    In taking relief from a lateral water hazard, a player may drop within two club lengths of where the ball last crossed the margin of the hazard or return to the previous spot with a one stroke penalty.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 14. 
    A player’s ball has come to rest behind a divot that is not completely detached; he may remove the divot or press it down before playing his stroke.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 15. 
    Dustin incurs a two-stroke penalty if he asks Pete, his fellow competitor, the location of the hole on the putting green.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 16. 
    A ball incorrectly dropped in a wrong place, but not played, may be lifted without penalty and dropped in accordance with the Rules.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 17. 
    A fellow-competitor may not assist a competitor in removing a large loose impediment.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 18. 
    Eric is currently -5 under but bogeys the current hole. Sam is +4 and parred the current hole. Which player should tee off first on the next hole?
    • A. 

      Eric as he is currently winning overall

    • B. 

      It doesn't matter who tees off first

    • C. 

      Coach Powell as we all know he would have birdied that hole

    • D. 

      Sam as he now has honors

  • 19. 
    During a meet a players cell phone goes off in his bag or he is seen looking at his cell phone. What penalty, if any, does he occur
    • A. 

      There is no penalty.

    • B. 

      There is a two stroke penalty.

    • C. 

      His cell phone must be taken by the coach until the end of the meet.

    • D. 

      He is disqualified

  • 20. 
    Jake’s tee shot goes into a water hazard. Which of the following options are legal?
    • A. 

      Hit again from tee box counting as his third stroke.

    • B. 

      Drop a ball behind hazard where ball entered hazard going back as far as he wants counting as his third stroke.

    • C. 

      Play it as it lies counting as his second stroke.

    • D. 

      All of the above.

  • 21. 
    Aaron hits his ball into a high rough area but is having trouble finding it and does not know what to do. His group can not reach a consensus on the appropriate ruling. What should he do?
    • A. 

      Follow his rule since group can not decide.

    • B. 

      Play out both options until hole is finished marking both scores for rules committee.

    • C. 

      Follow rule supported by majority of group if possible.

    • D. 

      Wait until a coach or rules committee member arrives to help.

  • 22. 
    In stroke play, Thomas plays his third stroke from a bunker onto the putting green. After marking and lifting his ball from the putting green, Thomas realizes he played a wrong ball from the bunker. What is the ruling?
    • A. 

      There is no penalty.

    • B. 

      Thomas incurs a two stroke penalty and does not have to correct his error.

    • C. 

      Thomas incurs a two stroke penalty and must correct his error before playing from the next teeing ground.

    • D. 

      Thomas is disqualified.

  • 23. 
    Erin addresses her ball on the putting green. Because of the wind, she steps away from the ball, marks its position, lifts it, and then replaces it. Before she addresses the ball again, a gust of wind moves the ball four feet closer to the hole. What penalty, if any, does Erin incur, and how should she play the ball?
    • A. 

      None and she must play the ball as it lies.

    • B. 

      One stroke, and she must replace the ball.

    • C. 

      One stroke, and she must play the ball as it lies.

    • D. 

      Two strokes, and she must replace the ball.

  • 24. 
    In stroke play, you hit your ball past a line marking out of bounds. What must you do next?
    • A. 

      Take a one stroke penalty and rehit from the previous spot.

    • B. 

      There is no penalty and play it as it lies

    • C. 

      Take a one stroke penalty and play ball from where it crossed into out of bounds.

    • D. 

      Run and hide before Coach Powell finds out

  • 25. 
    You need a bottle of water or something to eat during the round. What should you do?
    • A. 

      Have your parent bring you something.

    • B. 

      Call timeout and run to the clubhouse.

    • C. 

      Call Jimmy John's for freaking fast delivery.

    • D. 

      Have your parents bring something to the coaches to give you.

  • 26. 
    Coach Buehrer crushes a 350 yard drive that lands just into the rough along the rightside of the fairway. As he approaches the spot where he believe the ball landed he can not find his ball. What should he do?
    • A. 

      Search until the ball is found

    • B. 

      Search for 5 minutes. If he can not find his ball, drop a ball nearest to where he think it should be and continue playing.

    • C. 

      Search for 5 minutes. If he can not find his ball he must return to the tee to rehit what would now be his third shot.

    • D. 

      Search for 5 minutes. If he can not find his ball he must return to the tee to rehit what would now be his second shot.

  • 27. 
    In stroke play, on every putting green, Dustin marks the position of his ball, lifts the ball and places it nearer the hole than the spot from which it was lifted and plays the ball. What is the ruling?
    • A. 

      Dustin incurs no penalty if he was avoiding aerification holes.

    • B. 

      Dustin incurs no penalty if the committee determines he did not receive a significant advantage.

    • C. 

      Dustin incurs a two-stroke penalty for each time he replaces the ball maximum of 4 strokes per hole.

    • D. 

      Dustin should be disqualified.

  • 28. 
    Zane's ball is in the bunker. Prior to hitting he is careful not to let his club touch the sand. He hits a poor shot that fails to get out of the bunker and he slams his club down in frustration. What is the penalty, if any?
    • A. 

      No Penalty

    • B. 

      1 stroke

    • C. 

      2 strokes

    • D. 

      Disqualified

  • 29. 
    On the sixth hole, Rece realizes his ball landed on the cart path. What should he do?
    • A. 

      He must play the ball as it lies.

    • B. 

      He can move the ball within one club length of the cart path, no closer to the hole without penalty

    • C. 

      He can move the ball within two club lengths of the cart path, no closer to the hole without penalty

    • D. 

      He can move the ball within two club lengths of the cart path, no closer to the hole with a one stroke penalty

  • 30. 
    In stroke play, Eric plays a stroke from a bunker. The ball strikes the lip of the bunker, bounces back and is deflected off Eric’s chest.  Which of the following is CORRECT?
    • A. 

      There is no penalty and the ball must be played as it lies.

    • B. 

      There is a penalty of one stroke and the ball must be played as it lies.

    • C. 

      There is a penalty of two strokes and the ball must be played as it lies.

    • D. 

      There is a penalty of two strokes and he must cancel and reply his previous stroke.

  • 31. 
    Aaron is having a bad day. After losing multiple golf balls he realized he has run out. What should he do?
    • A. 

      Aaron would never lose a golf ball and thus not be in this situation.

    • B. 

      He is disqualified as he can no longer finish the round.

    • C. 

      He may borrow a ball from another player but must take a two stroke penalty.

    • D. 

      He may borrow a ball from another player without penalty

  • 32. 
    Gage`s ball lies 10 feet from the hole, but in a bunker after his third shot. James`s ball lies 15 feet from the hole on the putting green after his fourth shot. Trey's ball lies 10 feet from the hole after his second shot. Who should hit first?
    • A. 

      Trey because he has taken fewer strokes then the others.

    • B. 

      Gage because he is off the green.

    • C. 

      James because he is farthest from the hole.

    • D. 

      James because he has taken more strokes then the others.

  • 33. 
    A player may move a yardage marker or sign if it interferes with their stroke. 
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 34. 
    If a spectator or coaches phones rings or makes noise during you swing you may hit again without penalty.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 35. 
    After a bad shot, Tiger swears loudly. What penalty should he receive if any?
    • A. 

      2 strokes

    • B. 

      1 stroke

    • C. 

      Disqualified

    • D. 

      None

  • 36. 
    All of these are true for us as well.
    • A. 

      No tobacco or alcohol related apparel

    • B. 

      Range finders/GPS locators not allowed during round (Disqualified)

    • C. 

      Range finders can be used before meet begins. Can also walk the course but can not roll ball on greens.

    • D. 

      Can now talk to HEAD COACH until you are on the green as long as not causing a delay in play.