Ewga Rules Corner

3 Questions

Settings
Please wait...
Ewga Rules Corner

Test your knowledge to see if you really know the rules of golf.


Questions and Answers
  • 1. 
    While on the putting green near the lip of the hole, Susan putts the ball with one hand and catches the ball with the other after the ball is below the level of the lip of the hole and prior to the ball dropping into the cup. What is the ruling?
    • A. 

      Susan purposely stopped her moving ball. In match play, she lost the hole. In stroke play, she incurs a two stroke penalty and was required to place her ball on the lip of the hole and hole out. If she did not do so, she was disqualified for failing to hole out.

    • B. 

      Susan purposely stopped her moving ball. In match play, she wins the hole and in stroke play, she incurs no penalty as her ball was deemed to have been holed.

    • C. 

      Susan purposely stopped her moving ball. In match play, she lost the hole and in stroke play, she incurs no penalty as her ball was deemed to have been holed.

    • D. 

      Susan receives an award for having the flexibility to perform such a feat!

  • 2. 
    In stroke play, Robin's ball stops on the lip of the hole. In disgust, she knocks her ball off the green with the back of her putter. What's the ruling?
    • A. 

      She can replace the ball in it's original spot and continue play.

    • B. 

      She has forfeited play and is disqualified for unsportsmanlike conduct.

    • C. 

      Robin must replace her ball under a one stroke penalty because she is not considered to have made a stroke.

    • D. 

      Robin must replace her ball under a two stroke penalty because she is not considered to have made a stroke.

  • 3. 
    • A. 

      Handicap Differential

    • B. 

      Trend Handicap

    • C. 

      Local Handicap

    • D. 

      Handicap Index