Do You Really Know The Rules?

10 Questions | Total Attempts: 20

SettingsSettingsSettings
Please wait...
Do You Really Know The Rules?

Most golfers do not cheat - they simply do not know enough about the Rules.


Questions and Answers
  • 1. 
    You hit into a fairway bunker. Your ball comes to rest in front of a pine cone, which affects your back swing, you carefully removed the pine cone without causing your ball to move and then play out. The ruling is:
    • A. 

      It's OK to do what you did, there is no penalty.

    • B. 

      One stroke penalty

    • C. 

      Two stroke penalty

    • D. 

      Disqualification

  • 2. 
    In the 2007 U.S. Women's Open, Cristie Kerr was having difficulty with her alignment and asked her caddie to stand behind her to help her line up. Is her caddie permitted to stand behind her while she plays a stroke?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

    • C. 

      Only when putting.

    • D. 

      Only when driving off.

  • 3. 
    Jack and Tom are playing as partners in a four-ball event. Tom has a long putt with a big break. Jack, using his putter, taps the spot on the green where he thinks Tom should aim. What's the ruling?
    • A. 

      No penalty.

    • B. 

      A one stroke penalty

    • C. 

      A two stroke penalty

    • D. 

      Disqualification

  • 4. 
    Tom notices sand and loose soil on his line of putt. While brushing the loose impediments out of the way, Tom presses down some blades of grass. In stroke play, the penalty is:
    • A. 

      No penalty, as long as the player re-brushes the grass so the blades are back in their original position.

    • B. 

      One Stroke penalty.

    • C. 

      Two Strokes penalty.

    • D. 

      Disqualification.

  • 5. 
    N the 1992 U.S. Open at Pebble Beach, Nick Faldo hit a ball into a tree and it never came down. Which of the following was NOT an option for Nick?
    • A. 

      Climb the tree and play the ball as it lies.

    • B. 

      Retrieve the ball, declare the ball unplayable, and continue under that rule

    • C. 

      Shake the tree until the ball comes down and then play the ball from its new position.

    • D. 

      Proceed under penalty of stroke-and-distance.

  • 6. 
    Jack and Tom were opponents in the first round of the club championship. On the 14th hole, Jack hit his ball left into some trees. While searching for it, Tom accidentally stepped on the ball and moved it. The penalty is:
    • A. 

      Tom loses the hole, play resumes on the 15th hole.

    • B. 

      Tom incurs no penalty and the ball must be replaced.

    • C. 

      Tom incurs a 1 stroke penalty and the ball must be replaced.

    • D. 

      Tom and Jack halve the hole and play resumes on the 15th hole.

  • 7. 
    Frustrated over missing another short putt, Jack taps in with the grip end of his putter. The ruling is:
    • A. 

      No penalty and the ball is considered as holed.

    • B. 

      One stroke penalty and the ball must be replaced and the stroke replayed with the correct end of the putter.

    • C. 

      One stroke penalty and the ball is considered as holed.

    • D. 

      Two stroke penalty and the ball is considered as holed.

  • 8. 
    During the second round of the 2007 U.S. Open at Oakmong, K.J. Choi's approach landed on the green and hung on the lip of the hole. Upon reaching the hole, K.J. had _____ seconds to determine if the ball was at rest.
    • A. 

      30 seconds

    • B. 

      60 seconds

    • C. 

      It must drop before he reaches the hole, else he plays another shot to hole out.

    • D. 

      10 seconds

  • 9. 
    During the 2001 Tradition, Larry Nelson's ball came to rest on a bridge in a water hazard. The ruling is:
    • A. 

      He may play the ball as it lies and is permitted to ground his club.

    • B. 

      He is entitled to relief without penalty since his ball lies on an immovable obstruction.

    • C. 

      He may proceed in accordance with Rule 26-1 (water hazards), incurring a one stroke penalty.

    • D. 

      Both A and C apply.

  • 10. 
    During a recent stroke-play round, there was a long wait at a difficult par-3 hole. After waiting on the tee for 10 minutes to play, Tom took out a weighted donut, slipped it onto the head of his 3-wood and took several practice swings to loosen up before hitting his shot. The ruling is:
    • A. 

      One stroke penalty for each swing taken with the donut on his club head.

    • B. 

      Two stroke penalty.

    • C. 

      Disqualification.

    • D. 

      There is no penalty since the donut was only used for practice swings.

Back to Top Back to top