Rules Review 5

10 Questions | Total Attempts: 444

SettingsSettingsSettings
Please wait...
Rules Review 5

Test your Umpiring knowledge with our Rules Review Quiz!


Questions and Answers
  • 1. 
    With a runner on first base, the batter is interfered with by the catcher but hits a single to right field. The runner from first base is thrown out attempting to advance to third base. The offensive manager informs the plate umpire that he would like to elect to take the catcher’s interference instead of the play. The umpire should…
    • A. 

      Allow the manager to elect the catcher’s interference; place the runner originally on first base at second base and award the batter-runner first base.

    • B. 

      Not allow the election on this play because all runners, including the batter-runner, advanced a base.

  • 2. 
    The catcher goes to the mound to talk to the pitcher. The pitcher does not speak English and the catcher does not speak the pitcher’s language. The catcher asks that the translator in the dugout come to the mound to interpret the conversation. The umpire should…
    • A. 

      Allow the translator to come to the mound to interpret the conversation.

    • B. 

      Require a coach or manager to accompany the translator to the mound and charge the team with a trip to the pitcher.

  • 3. 
    The runner on first base is taking his lead toward the inside of the line (home plate side) between first and second base. With one out, the batter hits a ground ball to the shortstop. The runner angles his path to second base toward the outside of second base. The runner angles his path over the entire route to the base. As the runner slides into the outside edge of second base, he collides with the fielder who is attempting to turn a double play. The runner started his slide before the base with his buttocks and legs hitting the ground before the base, and he did not make contact above the fielder’s knee. The runner was able to reach and stay on the base.  Is this a violation of the “Slide Rule”?
    • A. 

      No; this is a legal slide. The runner angling his course over the entire route to the base shall not be judged to have changed his pathway.

    • B. 

      Yes; the runner should be called for an illegal slide for deviating from his pathway. Call interference and call the batter-runner out for the runner’s actions.

  • 4. 
    With a runner on first base and a 1-0 count on the batter the pitcher fails to come to a complete stop and is called for a balk. His pitch is wild and eludes the catcher. The runner on first base attempts to advance to third base and is thrown out. What is the ruling?
    • A. 

      Play stands.

    • B. 

      The batter and all runners did not advance a base; return the runner to second base.

  • 5. 
    Given the play in Question 4, a balk followed by a wild pitch: if the play is allowed to stand and the runner (who started on first base but advanced beyond his award) was thrown out at third base, does the pitch to the batter count since the play was allowed to stand? 
    • A. 

      No; the batter is at bat with the previous count 1-0.

    • B. 

      Yes; the play was allowed to stand. Count the pitch.

  • 6. 
    With runners on first and third base, the pitcher throws a wild pitch that is blocked by the catcher and rebounds toward the pitcher. The runner from third base starts for the plate but realizes the pitcher will field the rebound quickly. The runner from third base who had initially tried to advance retreats to third base. The pitcher then throws to third base in an attempt to get that runner but throws the ball out of play. The runner on first base was running on the wild pitch and touched second base before the wild throw by the pitcher was released. Where should the runners be placed?
    • A. 

      Score the runner from third base and place the runner originally on first base to third base as this is the first play by an infielder (pitcher, while off the rubber, and catcher are considered infielders for overthrow rules).

    • B. 

      Score the runner from third base and score the runner from originally on first base. The first play by an infielder does not come into play unless the batter becomes a runner.

  • 7. 
    Complete the following sentence:  When a pitcher swings ____________ past the back edge of the rubber, it is a balk if he does not pitch to the batter, unless he throws (or feints a throw) to second base on a pick-off play. 
    • A. 

      Any part of his free foot

    • B. 

      His entire free foot

  • 8. 
    With bases loaded and two outs in the bottom of the ninth inning, the batter is hit by a pitch. The runner from third base scored the winning run as the batter-runner went to first base and touched the base. The runner from second base started toward third base, but went to join the celebration at first base before he touched third base. The umpire should… 
    • A. 

      Declare the game over as only the batter needed to go to first base and the runner from third touch home.

    • B. 

      Call the runner from second out if the defense properly appeals third base.

  • 9. 
    The manager makes his first trip to the mound. As the plate umpire starts out to break up the conference, the manager leaves the 18-foot circle to tell the plate umpire that he is removing the pitcher and wants to make a “double switch.” The plate umpire should … 
    • A. 

      Not allow the manager to make the switch as the manager’s trip ended when he left the 18-foot circle.

    • B. 

      Allow the manager to make the substitutions.

  • 10. 
    In the bottom of the third inning, the designated hitter is called out on strikes. He argues and is subsequently ejected from the game. The manager of the opposing team asks the umpire for the name of the player who will be replacing the designated hitter. 
    • A. 

      Require the opposing team to name the DH immediately.

    • B. 

      The DH is not required to be announced until it is the DH’s turn to bat.