Fiba Rules Refresher - Oabo Camps 2016 - Basic

30 Questions | Total Attempts: 32

SettingsSettingsSettings
Fiba Rules Refresher  - Oabo Camps 2016 - Basic - Quiz

Quiz covers situations/rules that are encountered frequently by officials with some exceptions such as no questions on shot clock, goaltending, basket interference and special situations.


Questions and Answers
  • 1. 
    Team A has been in control of the ball in the team A backcourt for 5 seconds when a held ball occurs. Play resumes with a team A alternating possession throw-in. Shall team A now have a new 8-second period to cause the ball to go to the team A frontcourt?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 2. 
    On a last free-throw, the ball touches the basket ring but the does not enter the basket. The timer starts the game clock when the ball rebounds and strikes the leg of player A1.  Is the timer correct? 
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

    • C. 

  • 3. 
    A3 is awarded two free throws, both of which are successful. Following the final free throw but before the ball is at the disposal of a team B player out-of-bounds for the resulting throw-in, team A requests a time-out. Shall the timeout be permitted immediately?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 4. 
    Following a successful Team A field goal during the last two minutes of play, team B is granted a time-out. Following the team B time-out, team A is granted a time-out. Shall play resume, following the team A time-out, with a team B throw-in at the throw-in line   in the frontcourt opposite the scorer's table?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 5. 
    A5 commits a 5th foul and is no longer entitled to participate. A5 then commits a technical foul. Shall the technical foul count as one of the team fouls leading to the penalty situation in that period?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 6. 
    After a violation for illegally returning the ball to the backcourt, shall the resulting throw-in always take place in the throwing-in team’s front court?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 7. 
    A3 has been dribbling the ball in team A’s backcourt for 6 seconds when B3 deliberately deflects the ball with the foot. On the resulting team A throw-in, shall team A be given a new 8-second period to advance the ball to the team A frontcourt?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 8. 
    With thirty seconds remaining in a last period, team A scores a field goal. May B-3 substitute at this time?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 9. 
    B3 in the team B backcourt attempts a pass to B4 in the team B frontcourt. A3 jumps from the team A frontcourt and establishes control of the ball. While still in the air, A3 passes to A4 who is in the team A backcourt. Has the ball been illegally returned to the backcourt?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 10. 
    Team B has committed four team fouls in a 4th period that ends with the score tied. Early in the extra period, B4 fouls A4. Shall A4 be awarded two free throws?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 11. 
    A3 uses five seconds to dribble the ball in his backcourt and then attempts a pass to A4 who is in the frontcourt. B4 in the team A frontcourt deflects the ball into the team A backcourt where A3 again gains control. Shall A3 have only three seconds remaining in which to cause the ball to move to team A’s frontcourt?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 12. 
    A5 is dribbling the ball from the backcourt when he stops and straddles the centre line while still dribbling the ball. Shall the 8-second count continue?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 13. 
    A3 gains control of a rebound and attempts a long pass. B3, in the team B frontcourt near the centre line, jumps to intercept the pass, gains control of the ball and returns to the floor touching the team B backcourt. Has B3 illegally returned the ball to the backcourt?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 14. 
    A2 has a clear fast break with no opponent between A2 and the opponents’ basket when B3 causes contact from behind in an attempt to end A2’s fast break opportunity. Shall an unsportsmanlike foul be called against B3?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 15. 
    During the last two minutes of play in a 4th period, team A scores a field goal.  Team B is then permitted a substitution, after which team A requests a time-out. Shall the time-out be permitted?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 16. 
    Team A has 3 team fouls towards penalty in the 2nd period when player A3 gets a technical foul.  Shortly after in the same period, A4 commits a defensive blocking foul on B4.  Is B4 now awarded two free throws?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 17. 
    On the jump ball to start the game, the ball is tapped and touches player A3 and then A4 before going out-of-bounds.  On the subsequent throw-in by B1, the pass is fumbled out-of-bounds by B2.  Are the officials correct in awarding the throw-in to Team A and setting the alternating possession arrow to Team B at this time?
    • A. 

      N Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 18. 
    Thrower A1 is holding the ball out-of-bounds during an AP throw-in when B3 fouls A3 cutting for the ball.  The officials rule this a common foul and award a throw-in to Team A.  Immediately upon the completion of the successive throw-in by Team A the arrow is reversed to favour Team A.  Is this correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 19. 
    The head coach of Team B remains seated while the assistant coach stands and coaches the team. There is a close play and Assistant Coach B reacts commenting to the officials then wants an explanation from the officials? Is this permissible?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 20. 
    B2 catches the ball in the air, lands on one foot, jumps and lands on both feet simultaneously. B2 then lifts his right foot prior to starting a dribble. The officials rule this a violation. Are the officials correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 21. 
    B3 is guarding A3 when B3 slaps the ball away from A3 and then taps it to the floor while trying to gain control before catching it. B3 then dribbles. The official rules this an illegal dribble. Is the official correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 22. 
    Must an unsportsmanlike foul always involve contact with an opposing player?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 23. 
    A8 enters the game to replace A3. The ball is at the disposal of the thrower for a throw-in when A5 commits a fifth foul and must leave the game. The officials allow A3 to now substitute for A5. Are the officials correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 24. 
    B2 is in the restricted area of the opponent's basket for 2.5 seconds on the low block. B2 places one foot outside the restricted area and then lifts the other before putting it back down in the restricted area and receives a pass. The officials rule a 3 second violation. Are the officials correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 25. 
    Team A is entitled to the ball to start the 2nd period.  During the throw-in, thrower A2 commits a violation. The officials award a throw-in to Team B and the alternating possession arrow is reversed. Are the officials correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

Back to Top Back to top
×

Wait!
Here's an interesting quiz for you.

We have other quizzes matching your interest.