WFTDA Rules Test

50 Questions

Settings
Please wait...
WFTDA Quizzes & Trivia

The Women's Flat Track Derby Association is the international governing body for women's roller derby, skating in other words. How well do you know the WFTDA rules? Take up the quiz and find out how much you know.


Questions and Answers
  • 1. 
    True or False:Team A's Jammer is not on the track prior to the jam-starting whistle. Team A is allowed to send a jammer from their bench onto the track to play in the in-progress jam.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 2. 
    True or False:Skaters may legally re-enter the track in front of the opponent who forced them out-of-bounds, if the opponent went out-of-bounds at any point after the initiating block.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 3. 
    True or False:A cutting the track penalty will be issued for a skater who slides out-of-bounds and then back in-bounds while still down.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 4. 
    • A. 

      Earns a false start and must serve 30 seconds in the penalty box

    • B. 

      Must skate clockwise until the Blocker has yielded to at least one Blocker from the opposing team.

    • C. 

      Can engage other players immediately. Touching over the Jammer Line is considered "no impact/no penalty"

    • D. 

      Must yield to all skaters in proximity, including the opposing Jammer, to avoid a False Start penalty.

  • 5. 
    Which part of the body is considered an illegal target zone?
    • A. 

      Chest

    • B. 

      Upper Arm

    • C. 

      Hip

    • D. 

      Above the shoulder

  • 6. 
    How many time outs does each team have per game?
    • A. 

      One

    • B. 

      Two

    • C. 

      Three

    • D. 

      None

  • 7. 
    Which of the following must a skater do when re-entering the track from the penalty box?
    • A. 

      Re-Enter at the front of the pack.

    • B. 

      Skate onto the track immediately, regardless of where the pack is.

    • C. 

      Re-enter behind all in-play Blockers

    • D. 

      None of the above

  • 8. 
    Which of the following is an illegal procedure penalty?
    • A. 

      Failure to yield

    • B. 

      Too many skaters on the track

    • C. 

      Improper uniform

    • D. 

      Removing required safety equipment

    • E. 

      All of the above

  • 9. 
    True or False:When initiating a block, a skater must be in bounds, but may pick up momentum for the block from out of bounds prior to returning to the track.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 10. 
    True or False:Using an impenetrable wall to impede an opponent is illegal.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 11. 
    A jammer must legally pass an on-the-track opposing blocker to score points on players not on the track (NOTT)
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 12. 
    True or False:A skater who is lead jammer can call off the jam while being removed from play due to a penalty.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 13. 
    What is the maximum number of skaters from one team that can be seated in the penalty box at one time?
    • A. 

      Three

    • B. 

      Four

    • C. 

      Five

    • D. 

      Two

  • 14. 
    What happens when a jammer who has not been declated lead jammer successfully calls off the jam?
    • A. 

      The Jammer receives an Illegal Procedure penalty

    • B. 

      The Captain receives an Insubordination penalty

    • C. 

      Nothing

  • 15. 
    What is the referee whistle signal for a penalty?
    • A. 

      No whistle signal

    • B. 

      Two rapid whistle blasts

    • C. 

      One long whistle blast

    • D. 

      Two long whistle blasts

  • 16. 
    At most, how many seconds can elapse after the completion of a timeout, barring additional timeouts before the next jam begins.
    • A. 

      15

    • B. 

      20

    • C. 

      30

    • D. 

      60

  • 17. 
    True or False:A jammer must stay in bounds to remain lead jammer.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 18. 
    Helmet covers may be retrieved while skating in which direction?
    • A. 

      Clockwise

    • B. 

      Counter-clockwise

    • C. 

      Neither

    • D. 

      A and B

  • 19. 
    What is the result of the following scenario?A downed skater re-entering the track causes an opposing skater to stumble but not fall or lose relative position.
    • A. 

      No call, legal scenario

    • B. 

      Penalty

    • C. 

      Expulsion

  • 20. 
    True or False:When a jammer's helmet cover falls to the ground, the pivot can pick it up to become the active jammer.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 21. 
    A legal star pass is completed when:
    • A. 

      The helmet cover leaves the Jammer's helmet

    • B. 

      When the Jammer hands the Star to the Pivot and the Pivot is in full possesion

    • C. 

      After the Jammer passes or tosses the helmet cover to the Pivot and it is in the Pivot's hand, or when the Pivot picks up the Jammer helmet cover from the floor and put it on their helmet.

    • D. 

      When the Pivot is in possession of the Jammer helmet cover, in their hand or on their helmet, regardless of how it was transferred.

    • E. 

      When the helmet cover is on the former Pivot's helmet with the stars visible.

  • 22. 
    True or False:A skater, having gone out of bounds or straddling, who briefly and unintentionally completely returns to the track on one skate in their efforts to remain or return out of bounds is issued a cut penalty.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 23. 
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 24. 
    True or False:If a skater is illegally blocked outside of the engagement zone, they may legally counter-block.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 25. 
    A referee must give you a warning before issuing which types of penalties:
    • A. 

      Failure to Return to Engagement Zone

    • B. 

      Multi-Player Blocks

    • C. 

      Use of Hands

    • D. 

      None of the above

  • 26. 
    What kind of penalty would be issued in the following scenario?An upright skater re-enters the track from out-of-bounds in front of multiple in-bounds skaters during a no pack scenario, resulting in the skater having bettered their position.
    • A. 

      Illegal Procedure

    • B. 

      Cutting the Track

    • C. 

      No Impact/No Penalty

    • D. 

      Thumbs Up

  • 27. 
    True or False:Blockers who advance or chase the jammer out of the engagement zone are considered part of and belonging to point totals of the previous (just completed) scoring pass.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 28. 
    Which referees are allowed to expel a skater?
    • A. 

      Any of the referee staff

    • B. 

      Only the Jammer Referees

    • C. 

      Only the Head Referee

    • D. 

      The Jammer Referee and the Head Referee

  • 29. 
    If the referee is not sure whether an action warrants a penalty or expulsion, it must be called as:
    • A. 

      No Impact/No Penalty

    • B. 

      Penalty

    • C. 

      Expulsion

  • 30. 
    Which of the following safety gear may be removed when seated in the penalty box?
    • A. 

      Helmet

    • B. 

      Mouth Guard

    • C. 

      Both A and B

    • D. 

      None of the above

  • 31. 
    True or False:A penalized skater's teammates, managers, and coaches may not at any time physically enter the designated penalty box area to communicate with the penalized skater.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 32. 
    A jam gets called off for having too many skaters on the track and the offending team did not field a pivot. As the referees are unsure who the last blocker on the track was, who gets the penalty?
    • A. 

      Captain

    • B. 

      Pivot

    • C. 

      Closest Blocker to referee who made the call

    • D. 

      No one

  • 33. 
    What kind of penalty would be issued in the following scenario?A skater initiates contact or engages an opponent before the first whistle, forcing the receiving opposing skater off balance, forward or sideways, but does not cause them to lose the established starting position.
    • A. 

      No Impact/No Penalty

    • B. 

      Illegal Procedure Penalty

    • C. 

      Out of Play penalty

  • 34. 
    The engagement zone includes: 
    • A. 

      20 feet behind the rearmost pack skater and 20 feet in front of the foremost pack skater

    • B. 

      10 feet behind the rearmost pack skater and 10 feet in front of the foremost pack skater

    • C. 

      20 feet in front of the foremost pack skater and 10 feet behind the rearmost pack skater

  • 35. 
    Which of the following is a "no pack" situation?
    • A. 

      4 Green Blockers are more than 10 feet away from 4 Red Blockers

    • B. 

      4 green Blockers are more than 10 feet away from 3 red Blockers, and 1 red Blocker has been knocked out-of-bounds.

    • C. 

      3 green Blockers and 1 red Blocker are more than 10 feet from 3 red Blockers and 1 green Blocker

    • D. 

      All of the above

  • 36. 
    True or False:A Blocker's proximity to other blockers is measured by their fingertips.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 37. 
    For an in-bounds blocker to regain position in the pack after having fallen behind or recovering from a fall, a skater must:
    • A. 

      Catch up to the back of the pack by skating within track boundaries to be considered back in play

    • B. 

      Skate outside track boundaries to stay out of the way until they can easily get to the back of the pack

    • C. 

      Wait for the pack to come back around to enter from behind.

  • 38. 
    Which of the following is an example of a multi-player block?
    • A. 

      "Bowling" with a teammate by pushing them into an opponent

    • B. 

      Preventing an opponent from passing between Blockers by holding each other's clothing

    • C. 

      Grabbing or holding a teammate's arm while blocking

  • 39. 
    True or False:If a skater jumps, it is illegal to hit them while they are in the air.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 40. 
    True or False:If a skater re-enters the track from out-of-bounds in front of an opposing skater, bettering their position, they will not receive a cutting the track penalty as long as they yield the right of way.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 41. 
    True or False:Standing during the last 10 seconds of a penalty is optional.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 42. 
    True or False:If a jammer false starts but yields advantage, they will not receive a penalty.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 43. 
    Gross misconduct includes which of the following?
    • A. 

      Illegal interference in game play by skaters or support staff not involved in the jam.

    • B. 

      Crashing into the Penalty Box and causing a chair to hit a Non-Skating Official.

    • C. 

      Repetitive and excessive use of obscene language directed at an opponent

    • D. 

      All of the above

  • 44. 
    What kind of penalty would be issued in the following scenario?A skater is called out on a penalty and refuses to leave the track.
    • A. 

      Insubordination

    • B. 

      No Penalty

    • C. 

      Expulsion

  • 45. 
    Referees will whistle a jam dead if:
    • A. 

      There is an injured skater on the track who cannot get up

    • B. 

      Green team's Jammer is called to the box, and red team failed to field a Jammer for that jam.

    • C. 

      Red team's Jammer has scored 50 points in the jam.

    • D. 

      A and B only

  • 46. 
    True or False:After serving a penalty, a jamer who re-enters the track behind all in-play blockers but in front of the opposing jammer, should receive a penalty.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 47. 
    True or False:A Blocker who lines up for a jam but is knocked out-of-bounds just prior to the first whistle may not participate in that jam.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 48. 
    True or False:A skater who leaves the penalty box during a team timeout will receive an illegal procedure penalty.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 49. 
    Which of the following will result in a player fouling out of a game?
    • A. 

      Accruing more than 5 trips to the Penalty Box in either period, or more than 8 trips in a game.

    • B. 

      Accruing 7 trips to the Penalty Box in a game.

    • C. 

      Accruing more than 5 trips to the Penalty Box in either period.

    • D. 

      Using obscene or abusive language directed at an Official.

  • 50. 
    True or False:If a safety hazard on the track has forced a referee to whistle a jam dead after the time on the period clock has run out, but no before the jam clock has run out, the head referee may call for an additonal jam.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False