2015 Golf Rules Quiz For 13-18 Year Olds

20 Questions
2015 Golf Rules Quiz For 13-18 Year Olds

.

Please wait...
Questions and Answers
  • 1. 
    Which of the following is a breach of etiquette?
    • A. 

      You slice a ball into another fairway towards another golfer and yell "fore"

    • B. 

      You tee your ball up when it is your turn to play

    • C. 

      You do not fix your ball mark after hitting the green and making a pitch mark on the surface of the green

    • D. 

      You replace a divot that was made by taking a stroke from the rough or fairway

  • 2. 
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 3. 
    You slice your tee shot and your ball comes to rest in the rough (through the green) near tree roots in an unplayable lie. Which of the following is NOT one of your options when taking an unplayable lie under Rule 28? Accept a penalty stroke and:
    • A. 

      Drop your ball wherever you have a clear shot to the hole.

    • B. 

      Replay from the tee.

    • C. 

      Drop a ball within two club lengths of where the ball originally came to rest in the unplayable lie, not nearer the hole.

    • D. 

      Drop a ball behind the spot where the ball lay unplayable keeping the spot between you and the hole. You can go back as far as you want.

  • 4. 
    In stroke play, you believe your ball is buried in sand in a bunker. While searching for it with your hand, you accidentally move it. What is the ruling? (Rule 12-1a)
    • A. 

      No Penalty

    • B. 

      One Stroke Penalty

    • C. 

      Two Stroke Penalty

    • D. 

      Disqualification

  • 5. 
    In stroke play your ball lies on the fringe just off the putting green and another player's ball lies right behind your ball. He asks you to mark and lift your ball because it interferes with his next stroke. You mark and lift your ball but also clean it. Is there a penalty under Rule 21 for cleaning the ball?
    • A. 

      No Penalty

    • B. 

      One Stroke Penalty

  • 6. 
    You hit your tee shot and you see it roll into a thick bush. After searching for 5 minutes, you haven't found your ball. What must you do according to Rule 27?
    • A. 

      Drop within two club lengths of the bush, not nearer the hole. The next stroke will be your third.

    • B. 

      Return to the tee and play your third stroke.(Stroke and Distance)

    • C. 

      Return to the tee and play your second stroke. (Distance Only)

    • D. 

      Drop a ball within two club lengths of the bush, your next stroke will be your fourth.

  • 7. 
    Which statement is FALSE regarding a ball in a Water Hazard (yellow stakes and/or lines)? A player may:
    • A. 

      Play the ball as it lies without penalty from within the water hazard provided they do not touch the ground or water with his hand or club and does not move any loose impediments (stones, leaves, etc.)

    • B. 

      Play a ball from where the previous stroke was made incurring a one stroke penalty.

    • C. 

      Use the drop area, if one is provided, without penalty.

    • D. 

      Drop a ball behind the hazard, keeping the point where the ball last crossed the margin of the hazard directly between the hole and the spot where the ball is to be dropped, no limit how far behind the hazard it may be dropped, adding one penalty stroke.

  • 8. 
    • A. 

      Under penalty of one stroke drop a ball behind the hazard, keeping the point where the ball last crossed the margin of the hazard directly between the hole and the spot where the ball is to be dropped, no limit how far behind the hazard it may be dropped, adding one penalty stroke.

    • B. 

      Under penalty of one stroke play a ball from where the previous stroke was made, adding one penalty stroke.

    • C. 

      Under penalty of one stroke drop a ball two club lengths from the point where the ball last crossed the margin of the hazard, but not closer to the hole.

    • D. 

      Without penalty play the ball as it lies from within the water hazard without touching the ground or water in the hazard with his hand or club and without moving any loose impediments (stones, leaves, etc.).

  • 9. 
    • A. 

      Add a one stroke penalty to your score for hole #1, making your score on that hole a 6.

    • B. 

      Add a two stroke penalty to your score for hole #1, making your score on that hole a 7.

    • C. 

      Return to the first tee and play from within the teeing ground and replay the hole adding a two stroke penalty to that score.

    • D. 

      Disqualification.

  • 10. 
    The maximum number of clubs you can have in your golf bag when you start your round is ____ clubs?
    • A. 

      14

    • B. 

      16

    • C. 

      18

    • D. 

      20

  • 11. 
    In stroke play you find your ball at rest on a paved cart path. Which of the following statement is true? Without penalty the player may:
    • A. 

      Drop two club lengths from the nearest point of relief, not nearer the hole.

    • B. 

      Drop within one club length of the nearest point of relief, not nearer the hole.

    • C. 

      Drop away from the cart path but stand on that path when making the next stroke.

    • D. 

      Substitute a different ball when you take relief from the cart path.

  • 12. 
    In stroke play, Player A's putt strikes his fellow competitor B's ball which is at rest on the putting green. What is the ruling?
    • A. 

      No penalty to either player

    • B. 

      Player A incurs a two stroke penalty, B incurs no penalty.

    • C. 

      Player B incurs a two stroke penalty, A incurs no penalty.

    • D. 

      Both player A & B incur a two stroke penalty

  • 13. 
    In stroke play, A asked B, a fellow-competitor, how far his (A's) ball was from the middle of the putting green. B informed him he (A) was 157 yards to the middle of the green. What is the ruling? (Rule 8-1 Decision 2)
    • A. 

      No penalty to either player

    • B. 

      Both A and B incur a one-stroke penalty.

    • C. 

      Both A and B incur a two-stroke penalty.

    • D. 

      Both A and B are disqualified.

  • 14. 
    In stroke play, prior to taking his stance, a player removes a stake defining out of bounds that interferes with his line of play. What is the ruling?  (Rule 13-2)
    • A. 

      No Penalty

    • B. 

      One Stroke Penalty

    • C. 

      Two Stroke Penalty

    • D. 

      Disqualification

  • 15. 
    A ball is out of bounds when a piece of it lies out of bounds.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 16. 
    During a stipulated round in stroke play, practice putting and chipping on or near the third green before playing that hole is permitted.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 17. 
    When the Committee has suspended play, a player who wishes to lift his ball must mark its position before lifting it. (Rule 6-8)
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 18. 
    Under which of the following situations would you be able to take relief without penalty from casual water under rule 25?
    • A. 

      Your ball lies in the fairway and there is dew under your ball

    • B. 

      Your ball lies on the green and your stance is in a small puddle

    • C. 

      Your ball lies in bounds, but your stance is in a puddle that is out of bounds

    • D. 

      Your ball lies near the green in the rough and there is a puddle on the green between your ball and the hole

  • 19. 
    In stroke play, a competitor discovers during the play of the 3rd hole, that he started with and is carrying 15 clubs. How many total penalty strokes does the player incur for this breach? (Rule 4-4)
    • A. 

      1

    • B. 

      2

    • C. 

      4

    • D. 

      6

  • 20. 
    Before returning your score card after your round you must do which of the following?
    • A. 

      Go over your score card with your marker and settle any doubtful points with the hole by hole score

    • B. 

      Make sure your marker has signed the score card

    • C. 

      Sign the card yourself

    • D. 

      Do all of the above to ensure that you are not disqualified for turning in an unacceptable score card