Rules Review 1

10 Questions

Settings
Please wait...
Rules Review 1

Test your umpiring knowledge!


Questions and Answers
  • 1. 
    In the fifth inning the manager goes to the mound replaces the pitcher, talks with the incoming pitcher and then returns to the dugout. After the pitcher has completed his warm up pitches the manager or coach wants to talk to the new pitcher again. Is this allowed?
    • A. 

      No, it would be his second trip while the same batter is at bat .

    • B. 

      Yes, it would be the first trip to the new pitcher as the first conversation took place during the trip charged to the previous pitcher .

  • 2. 
    Following a dispute of the ball/strike count on a batter, the umpire crew should:
    • A. 

      Comply with the plate umpire's count as the rule book states that it is his duty to call and count balls and strikes.

    • B. 

      Consult as a crew. If the correct count cannot be determined with certainty, call the official scorer for the correct count.

  • 3. 
    The game pitcher goes to the mound and completes his warm up pitches in the third inning. At this point, his manager informs the plate umpire that he is substituting a new pitcher. The umpire should:
    • A. 

      Inform the manager that the game pitcher must pitch to the first batter, unless a pinch hitter is substituted for the first batter.

    • B. 

      Allow the substitution.

  • 4. 
    The pitcher is throwing from the set position with no runners on base. The pitcher fails to make a stop and delivers the pitch quickly. The batter is facing the pitcher and reasonably set in the batter's box.
    • A. 

      The pitcher must stop in the set position this is an illegal pitch, with no runners on base it is a ball.

    • B. 

      Call the pitch as the batter is reasonably set in the batter's box.

  • 5. 
    A runner on first is stealing on the pitch. The batter hits a line drive to center field. The center fielder short hops the catch attempt and does not make the catch. The runner, who has reached second base, believes that the center fielder caught the ball and returns toward first base. The center fielder throws to second base, the shortstop fields the ball and steps on second base before the runner from first can return to second base.
    • A. 

      The force has been reinstated, and the runner from first should be declared out.

    • B. 

      The runner from first must be tagged as he removed the force when he touched his next base.

  • 6. 
    The batter strikes out on a pitch in the dirt. The catcher blocks the ball but it rolls near the batter who inadvertently deflects the ball away from the vicinity of the catcher. The umpire should:
    • A. 

      Call the batter out for interference.

    • B. 

      Leave the ball in play as the deflection occurred in the vicinity of home plate.

  • 7. 
    In the seventh inning, the manager removes the pitcher. As the new pitcher is warming up, but has not yet faced a batter, heavy rain forces the game to be halted. After the rain delay the new pitcher:
    • A. 

      Must face one batter or complete the inning.

    • B. 

      May be replaced because of the weather delay.

  • 8. 
    In the top of the seventh inning with the home team ahead 5-0. Heavy rains stop play. While the field is covered during the rain delay, lightning strikes the light standards and they are unable to be used during the remainder of the game. After a lengthy delay the umpires determine that play cannot continue due to the condition of the field. This game is:
    • A. 

      A called game, and the home team wins 5-0.

    • B. 

      A suspended game because of light failure, to be resumed at next scheduled date.

  • 9. 
    Following a home run, the pitcher receives a new ball from the umpire. The pitcher spits directly on the ball in order to rub it up. The umpire should:
    • A. 

      Eject the pitcher

    • B. 

      Warn the pitcher

  • 10. 
    Runner on first base, batter hits a long fly ball to left field. The runner on first base tags up and advances to second base. The pitcher gets the ball back and goes to the rubber and assumes the set position. He steps directly to first base, without stepping off and throws to first base to appeal that the runner did not properly tag up. The umpire should:
    • A. 

      Call a balk, as the pitcher threw to an unoccupied base .

    • B. 

      Allow the appeal as this constitutes a play on a runner for the purposes of the balk rule. (although not a play for the appeal rule).