60 Second Rules Challenge - Part 2

10 Questions | Total Attempts: 1654

SettingsSettingsSettings
Please wait...
NFHS Quizzes & Trivia

Part 2 of the 60 Seconds on Officiating Challenge. Time allotted: 10 Minutes# Questions: 10Reference: NFHS RulesAnswers: Will be provided at the completion of the challenge. Some questions have more than one possible correct answer. MAKE SURE TO SCROLL DOWN to see ALL POSSIBLE ANSWERS for each question. Some might be hidden in your browser window. Please remember this refers to NFHS rules ONLY unless otherwise specified. Best of luck. . . And stay tuned for future quizzes!


Questions and Answers
  • 1. 
    During an alternating possession throw-in, the official mistakenly awards the ball to TEAM A. Subsequently, TEAM A commits a throw-in violation ... what is the correct way to handle the situation?  Select ALL that apply.
    • A. 

      Award the ball back to Team B, as this is a correctable error.

    • B. 

      Award the ball to Team B as the result of the throw-in violation.

    • C. 

      Team A will receive the next alternating possession.

    • D. 

      Team B will retain the A-P arrow.

  • 2. 
    Following a successful try for goal by Team A the ball is rolling around on the floor directly under Team B's basket.  Teammates for Team B are in close proximity to the ball but make no effort to inbound the ball. What should the official do?  Choose the BEST answer here.
    • A. 

      Sound the whistle to stop the clock and hand the ball to Team B for inbounding.

    • B. 

      Continue to wait for up to 30 seconds before ruling a delay of game technical foul.

    • C. 

      Pause for a moment then begin a 5 second count.

    • D. 

      Immediately rule a delay of game warning.

    • E. 

      Verbally warn the players to quickly inbound the ball.

  • 3. 
    Prior to releasing the ball during a free-throw by Team A the lead official INADVERTENTLY blows the whistle as Team B enters the lane early, but before the ball leaves the hand of A-1.  The throw is unsuccessful.Because this was an inadvertent whistle, the play is permitted to continue following the miss.  Is this correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 4. 
    If TEAM A's throw-in touches a defensive player (B-1) while one of the defenders feet is out of bounds.The official should rule this a throw-in violation and allow TEAM B to inbound the ball at the nearest spot to the violation.  Is this correct?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 5. 
    For a CLOSELY GUARDED situation to occur ... what is the MINIMUM distance that must observed between the dribbler and the defender.
    • A. 

      Minimum distance is 3 feet in either direction.

    • B. 

      There is no minimum distance, but the maximum is 6 feet.

    • C. 

      The minimum is 6 feet.

    • D. 

      Must be touching.

    • E. 

      One normal step.

  • 6. 
    Players on the same team are permitted to wear different colored headbands at the same time provided the uniform contains these colors.
    • A. 

      True

    • B. 

      False

  • 7. 
    While A-1's unsuccessful try for goal is in flight, a double personal foul is committed by A-2 and B-2.Which of the following would apply to this situation?  (Select all that apply)
    • A. 

      A personal foul is awarded to both A-2 and B-2.

    • B. 

      Award the ball to Team A, as they have maintained possession.

    • C. 

      Award the ball to Team B, as they would have gained possession after the try.

    • D. 

      Resume play by using the alternating possession procedure.

    • E. 

      Both A-2 and B-2 must be removed from the game.

  • 8. 
    During an INTERRUPTED dribble of Team A, the official inadvertently blows their whistle.  What is the correct way to handle this situation?  (check all that apply)
    • A. 

      Official should allow play to continue and players should disregard the whistle.

    • B. 

      The team whose dribble was interrupted (Team A) should be awarded a throw-in.

    • C. 

      The official should resume play via the alternating possession procedure.

    • D. 

      Award the ball to Team B, as they caused the interrupted dribble.

    • E. 

      Confer with your partner(s) to decide which team was closest to the ball.

  • 9. 
    A-3 just substituted for A-1.  Prior to the clock properly starting, A-5 commits their 5th personal foul.  A-1 is the only eligible substitute left on the bench.  However, because the clock has not started, the official does not allow A-1 to re-enter and Team A played with 4 players until the clock properly started.   Is the official correct ?
    • A. 

      Yes

    • B. 

      No

  • 10. 
    Check ALL that apply.The DIVISION LINE ...
    • A. 

      Is part of the front-court area.

    • B. 

      Is part of the back-court area.

    • C. 

      Is neither part of the front-court or back-court area ... it's the division line.

    • D. 

      Should divide the court into two equal parts.

    • E. 

      On courts less than 74 feet long, should be two lines - parallel and 40 feet from the farther endline.

    • F. 

      Must be clearly visible to all officials.

Back to Top Back to top