With a runner on first base, the batter is interfered with by the - ProProfs Discuss
Topics
Products
Follow Us:

With a runner on first base, the batter is interfered with by the catcher but hits a single to right field. The runner from first base is thrown out attempting to advance to third base. The offensive manager informs the plate umpire that he would like to elect to take the catcher’s interference instead of the play. The umpire should…



A. Allow the manager to elect the catcher’s interference; place the runner originally on first base at second base and award the batter-runner first base.
B. Not allow the election on this play because all runners, including the batter-runner, advanced a base.

This question is part of Rules Review 5
Asked by Raquel.wagner, Last updated: Aug 05, 2020

+ Answer
Request

1 Answer

John Smith

John Smith

Answered Sep 28, 2016

Not allow the election on this play because all runners, including the batter-runner, advanced a base.

2016 MLB Umpire Manual: Rule Interpretations 10. CATCHERS INTERFERENCE Rule 5.05(b)(3), 5.06(b)(3)(D), 6.01(g) [former OBR 6.08(c), 7.04(d), 7.07] Under Official Baseball Rule 5.05(b)(3) [former OBR 6.08(c)], if catchers interference is called with a play in progress, the umpire will allow the play to continue because the manager may elect to take the playunless the batter reaches first base and all other runners advance one base, in which event the play stands and the manager has no option to take the interference penalty. The umpire should indicate catchers interference by pointing at and calling the infraction. The manager shall make the election to take the play or take the interference penalty by advising the plate umpire immediately following the play, and once made, such election cannot be changed. If the batter-runner misses first base, or a runner misses his next base, he shall be considered as having reached the next base, as referred to in the Note to Official Baseball Rule 5.06(b)(3)(D) [former OBR 7.04(d)] and as stated in the Approved Ruling of Official Baseball Rule 6.02(a) [former OBR 8.05]: A runner who misses the first base to which he is advancing and who is called out on appeal shall be considered as having advanced one base for the purpose of this rule.
 

Search for Google images
Select a recommended image
Upload from your computer
Search for Google images
Select a recommended image
Upload from your computer
Search for Google images
Select a recommended image
Upload from your computer

Email Sent
We have sent an email to your address "" with instructions to reset your password.