You can only delete your Twitter account after you deactivate it. Here are the easy steps on how you can deactivate your account: Log in to your Twitter account by typing your username and password, then click the settings from the menu located at the top page of your account. Once you click settings, scroll down until you see “Deactivate my account”.
Click it and a message will tell you that “We will only retain your used date for 30 days and then it will be permanently deleted. You can reactivate your deactivation by logging back in.” Click “Deactivate @(your username)” and there you have it, your account is now finally deactivated. If you wish to permanently delete your account, just don’t log back in within 30 days so Twitter can permanently remove all of your information and data.