A4 releases the ball on a try forgoal. The horn sounds to end the - ProProfs Discuss
Topics
Products
Follow Us:

A4 releases the ball on a try forgoal. The horn sounds to end the period. After the horn, while in its upwardflight, the ball is touched by B4. After the touch by B4, the ball enters thebasket. Shall the goal count?



A. Yes
B. No

This question is part of FIBA Basketball Rules Quiz
Asked by Baskman, Last updated: Jan 17, 2020

+ Answer
Request

1 Answer

John Smith

John Smith

Answered Jan 30, 2017

No

No. The ball become dead when the ball which is in flight on a shot for a field goal is touched by a player from either team after: An official blows his whistle. The game clock...Read More
1
 1

cassiomq

Cassiomq

Replied on Apr 02, 2018

It is a catchy situation, so I wouldnt say that always the basket is going to be cancelled. If the ball is touched when a player is trying to block shot the shot, I would say that the basket shall count unless you have a video review to check when the contact was made. In a different situation where a player blockshots the shot from a bigger distance than it would be easier to make this decision but still it is a very tricky situation to judge.

Search for Google images
Select a recommended image
Upload from your computer
Search for Google images
Select a recommended image
Upload from your computer
Search for Google images
Select a recommended image
Upload from your computer

Email Sent
We have sent an email to your address "" with instructions to reset your password.