Rice vinegar is created by fermenting the sugar that comes from wine into alcohol. Once the rice has turned into wine, it will be fermented further so that it can become vinegar. Rice wine also goes through the same process but it will not be fermented anymore once it becomes wine.
It can get confusing to know which one you will use when you are checking out recipes. Some people interchange these products and they end up with food that is far from the original. If the recipe says that you need rice wine, look for rice wine and not rice vinegar or you will end up with something very sour.