Products +

South America Questions and Answers (Q&A)

The correct answer is A, the Western hemisphere. The planet has four hemispheres: the Western hemisphere, the Eastern hemisphere, the Northern hemisphere, and the Southern hemipsphere. The equator is the imaginary line at 0 degrees latitude at the center of the Earth, dividing the planet into the Northern and Southern hemispheres.

The Western and Eastern hemispheres are divided by the imaginary line known as the Prime Meridian, which is the vertical imaginary line that runs at 0 degress longititude. Thus the Western hemisphere includes the entirety of North America and South America, including nearly half of Antartica, the Caribbean, Central America, and Greenland.

1 Answer

Puerto Rico's. But,Puerto Rico is NOT a country in South America. It's a country in the Caribbean.

1 Answer

Out of the given choices, the country which is not in South America is letter D or Mexico. Mexico, or officially known as the United Mexican States, is in the southern part of North America. It is ranked 13th in terms of area which covers a total area of 1,972,550 square kilometers. In terms of population, the country is ranked 11th with a total population of more than 123 million people.

Brazil, Chile and Argentina are all in South America. Brazil is ranked 5th and 6th in terms of area and population respectively, Chile is ranked 37th and 65th in terms of area and population respectively and Argentina is ranked 8th and 31st in terms of area and population respectively.

1 Answer

Capybara is the name of the largest rodent species found in South America. They are native to South America such as Brazil, Colombia and Venezuela, and inhabit the savannas and dense forests. Its scientific name is Hydrochoerus which translates to “water hog”. This name was given to them because of the fact that they live near bodies of water such as swamps, marshes, ponds, rivers, lakes and streams and they spend much of their time in the water than in land.

They are herbivores – meaning they eat by grazing aquatic plants and grasses, bark of trees and fruits. A young capybara can start eating grass shortly after they are born and once they become adults, they can eat up to eight pounds of grass each day.

1 Answer

The answer is letter C. Andes Mountains are the mountain chain found along the western coast of South America. It is the longest continental mountain range in the whole world which stretches from the northern to southern part of South America such as Peru, Colombia, Ecuador, Venezuela and Bolivia. It is also called parallel mountain ranges or cordilleras.

Its name was derived from the Spanish word “cordilla”, meaning rope or chain in English. The Andes Mountains have an elevation of 22,838 feet, a total length of 7,000 kilometers and a width of 500 kilometers, and it can be divided into three sections: The Central Andes which is located in Ecuador, Bolivia and Peru, the Southern Andes which is located in Argentina and Chile and the Northern Andes which is located in Colombia and Venezuela.

1 Answer

Loading, please wait...

Email Sent
We have sent an email to your address "" with instructions to reset your password.